Old 03 July 2021, 08:16   #1

Town: Southampton
Length: 4m +
Using VHF radio

Good morning forum,
We've changed our rib recently to 2008 Rib eye A500 which has a VHF radio. I've never used one before and will book a course soon. Do I need an operator's licence to use it or is the radio unit registered which is the licence? The boat came with all the VHF instructions, call sign, numbers etc.
Keen to radio into marinas around our area etc.
Thanks as always.
Old 03 July 2021, 08:43   #2

Town: Stonehaven
Boat name: Sunday Best
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yammy 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futura 155 View Post
Good morning forum,
We've changed our rib recently to 2008 Rib eye A500 which has a VHF radio. I've never used one before and will book a course soon. Do I need an operator's licence to use it or is the radio unit registered which is the licence? The boat came with all the VHF instructions, call sign, numbers etc.
Keen to radio into marinas around our area etc.
Thanks as always.
My understanding is that you "should" have an operators license, but most people don't. I certainly don't have one - but am confident enough using a VHF. You will find plenty of online 'courses' which tell you the basics about using DSC+VHF, which channels to use and how to use them etc as well as basic radio etiquette.

Others may jump in and correct me here though!
I always apply maNthematics to my purchases - tell her it cost a chunk less than it did, then tell her I got a chunk more than I really did for the one I sold... The new purchase seldom costs a penny...
SimonCh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2021, 08:59   #3

Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
RIBase
This subject has been discussed to the Nth degree over the years including very recently, the search function will reveal plenty of info.
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.