Old 09 April 2021, 07:31   #1

Town: Borlange
Boat name: Optima Vita
Make: XS
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki 2 x 250
MMSI: 265019760
Crossing channel

If my plans goes the way i want and dont collide with coronarestrictions, i would want to cross the English channel over to Holland.

I have some waterexperience but no local experience.

Does anyone have a word or two to say about it?

First week of may is my highly preliminary plan.

Traffic, weather, any ”must knows”?
Old 09 April 2021, 09:10   #2
RIBnet supporter

Town: Peel, IOM
Length: no boat
RIBase
From where to where?
What boat?
Give us a bit of a clue, difficult to offer advice otherwise.

"Ribbing-the most expensive way of travelling third class"
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 April 2021, 09:29   #3

Gallions Point marina to Hoek van Holland.

Its an 8,5 m rib.
Old 09 April 2021, 09:40   #4

Town: Winchester
Boat name: The Rubber Duck
Make: Avon 3.10
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 9.8
As I said, I'd do Dover to Calais / Dunkirk and then head up hugging the coast from there.

The distance isn't much more but the time at sea out of the sight of land is much much less, and its busy down there so if something does go wrong you will find alot more assistance close by.

You really do need to do some research and planning, the English Channel stops at the Dover Straits and north of there you are in the North Sea.

The trip you are considering is not one I would take on lightly. The North Sea can be a very unpleasant place to be.

The last thing I will say on the matter is that the trip really ought to be carried out with atleast two people on board and with all necessary safety and navigation equipment.
Old 09 April 2021, 09:54   #5

Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karl Oskar View Post

Its an 8,5 m rib.

How much fuel can it carry?