Old 05 August 2018, 17:06   #1

Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115hp
About to buy my first rib

Hi there,

i am new to ribs, but i`ve been in and droven boats all my life, motorboats and sailboats.
I`m about to buy my first rib, and need some advice on what to buy. I`m looking at english ribs, Tornado, XS or Humber. My range are 5.50 - 6.50m. I`ve tested a Tornado 5.80 with a 115hp, that was what did it for me re getting interested in ribs.

Thanks in advance!
Old 05 August 2018, 17:25   #2

Town: Gloucester
Boat name: Lunasea
Make: Ribcraft
Engine: Suzi 140
MMSI: 232005050
Hi Dissko,

Welcome.

Lots of threads and advice on which rib to buy on here - worth doing some searches - ...everyone has a view, but to get useful advice people will want to know stuff like:

What do you want to use it for
how many people will you usually carry
Where you'll be basing your ribbing
budget
etc.....

Big range of UK ribs 5.5-6.5m, and would be worth trying as many as possible, and understanding the possible layout configurations.

Many would suggest a wider initial list - Ribeye, Ribquest, Ribcraft, Osprey etc...them narrow down on spec, handling price etc.

I'm sure lots of advice will come your way.

LT
Old 05 August 2018, 17:43   #3

Hi there,

thanks for the reply. I don`t know why it is, but some brands stick out as more trustworthy than others. Many also looks very alike. I think what made me look more to the brands i mentioned in my first post is that they seem a bit rougher and off shore like, than most. I´m sure the ones you wrote are as good. I have done some research, and i will do more, but it seems like that i can go with either brand. Almost every company can provide what i want, it will come down to the money.

Do you think a 6m or a 6,5m would be underpowered with 115hp? I think the Tornado 580 with 115hp was perfect(with 5 people in the boat)

Thanks again!
Old 05 August 2018, 19:47   #4

Town: Armagh
Make: Xs
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 optimax