Old 10 September 2010, 21:26   #1

Town: kent
Boat name: SIBotage
Make: Prowave
Length: 3m +
Engine: 15hp Johnson 2 smoke
Newbie!!!!! What HP advice?

I am new to Sibbing and have recently bougth a Prowave 320 Airdeck ( i know its a generic import and no match to the avon or zodiac)

It is rated to take a 15hp but i read somewhere that a 15 and a 20 weigh the same and i also read on rib net another bit of advice to a newbie that it is better to go bigger and not use full power.

so is it better to ignore the rules and get a 20hp

Any suggestions welcome.
Old 11 September 2010, 05:48   #2

Town: Bury
Boat name: O' ALCHEMY
Make: Honwave 3.8 IE
Engine: Honda 15hp 4 stroke
MMSI: 235905781
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockieboi View Post
I am new to Sibbing and have recently bougth a Prowave 320 Airdeck ( i know its a generic import and no match to the avon or zodiac)

It is rated to take a 15hp but i read somewhere that a 15 and a 20 weigh the same and i also read on rib net another bit of advice to a newbie that it is better to go bigger and not use full power.

so is it better to ignore the rules and get a 20hp

Any suggestions welcome.
Hi there just my opinion but it comes down to could you/should you?

answer = yes/no

Yes you could put a 20hp on, but should you?

Do you have insurance? You'd be an idiot not to, not just for theft etc but the £3million liability is essential, and all for roughly £60-£70. So if you have insurance and then decide to put on an engine above the manufacturers stated rating, is your insuarnce valid? Will they pay up when something goes wrong?

Simply No. If you want a bigger engine then change the boat.

Best wishes

Jake
Old 11 September 2010, 07:10   #3

Town: Cairns
Boat name: KAHUNAS
Make: Zodiac
Length: under 3m
Engine: 30 Tohatsu
MMSI: wft is a dsc mmsi ?
No 15 hp motor weighs the same as a 20 hp.