Old 21 December 2002, 13:18   #1

Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Ribbing

Hi everybody, newbie here.

I have sat on the sideline for a few weeks, getting a feel for the site. You guys certainly know your stuff when it comes to ribs.

I've recently purchased my first secondhand rib, and I'm busy putting a few things right, and fitting a new engine to it.

Any advice that you could give me on the correct set up would be much appreciated.

I'm not new to boating, having spent many years playing around with powerboats, and although I still have a boat, my wife has asked me to buy a toy for pottering about.

I'm sure my rib will be fine for coastal work, skiing etc, but for the distance stuff and rough weather I shall still use my powerboat.

Regards

Dirk
Old 21 December 2002, 13:25   #2

Town: Bromley, Kent
Make: GS209
Length: 6.137
Engine: 4.3ltr 210hp Volvo Penta
Welcome Dirk, sorry I know bu..er all about Ribs, but perhaps you could give me some powerboat tips in a PM. I take delivery at the end of Feb, any useful tips would be appreciated.

Pete
Old 21 December 2002, 13:26   #3

Town: Great Harwood, Lancs
Boat name: Tigger II
Make: Bombardier Aerodeck
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 25HP
Hi Dirk

Welcome to Ribnet and Happy Christmas.

Like you I have "played" with most types but nothing comes close to the fun we have had with Ribs.

You dont say how big your RIB or powerboat is but I would not be supprised that after a short while you will be saying

I'm sure my powerbaot will be fine for coastal work, skiing etc, but for the distance stuff and rough weather I shall still use my RIB.

As you say there is not much that is not know about RIBS on here, welcome and enjoy.

All the Best Gary
Old 21 December 2002, 13:42   #4

Town: Gloucetsreshire
Boat name: GATO DI MARE
Make: MAR.CO
Engine: Yamaha 200Vmax
MMSI: 235027678
Send a message via MSN to Manos Send a message via Yahoo to Manos Send a message via Skype™ to Manos
Hi Dirk

I take my turn to wellcome you to the forum.