Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 28 April 2013, 13:10   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: bedford
Make: tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard 60hp merc
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 210
yam control box & cables

Hi

I need to replace the yam 703 & cables on my dive club Tornado 5,5, I have the new 703 and cables ready to fit and before I start the job would like to seek some advice as to where the difficulities might arise? The engine is 1994 115hp 2 stroke and all the cables and wires run in a plastic tube from the seat module to the back end. Are there any specificic issues with adjusting the cable ends where they fit on the engine?

Thanks
Dave
__________________

__________________
davej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2013, 14:53   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
The biggest problem you'll have is if you open the controls up to fit the cables without taking detailed pics. They're a sod to get back together and quite counter-intuitive.

Hopefully your new ones already have the cables fitted!

It's worth pre setting the cable lengths to the same as the old ones before installation, that way they'll be somewhere near.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2013, 05:20   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: bedford
Make: tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard 60hp merc
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 210
Thanks very much, will be having a go at this one evening next week.

TVM
Dave
__________________
davej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2013, 07:50   #4
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
You might also check the electrical plug to make sure that it has the same number of pins. Not all Yam control boxes are the same. Another expensive lesson learnt the hard way.

The box itself can be rigged either as push or pull for both cables hence Matts suggestion of take photos the first time. Lots of grease before you seal it all up.


Pete
__________________
.
Ribnet is best viewed on a computer of some sort
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.