Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 08 December 2002, 20:07   #1

Town: Blackpool
Boat name: To Exi
Make: new sib 4 man
Length: 8+ft
Engine: Mariner 4hp long shaft
Thanks to rib net and rib international.

I would like to thank all the contributers to ribnet and rib international for all there very usefull advice over the yrs,it has helped me make, what I believe to be one of the greatest purchases,I will ever make.

I have been working for the last 12 months on the design of what in my opinion will be one of the worlds first long distance Practical and comfortable cabin cruising ribs, with creature comforts like in board shower/toilet, diesel heating,oven hob,sleeps 5, will roll upside down and self right.

Devoloped and Designed using a combination ideas from hundreds of ribnet comments and articles and numerous Naval architects developments and there ever increasing costs?.

Taday any boat needs to comply with the relevant RCD regs or MCA coding.( Be carefull as I feel the insurance companies will one day limit your use to what it says on your RCD plate ?)

You may ask why a Rib,the reason is in my opinion there aint a better offshore sea boat in the world.

I have looked long and hard and asked myself what is the downside of a rib,and it was a very hard question to answer,the only possible downside is space and protection from the elements.

We have overcome this and am confident that we have produced one of the Strongest, most fuel efficient boats possible, Taking into account a decent maximum range for cruising.

Also it had to have an acceptable speed of approx 36 knotts fully loaded.