Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 11 August 2020, 12:20   #1
JMW
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: East Cowes
Make: Avon
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 6
RIBase
Surface or flush mount chart plotter?

Hi,
I have a Garmin echomap 65 which has been surface mounted as I replaced another unit so it was the easy option. Trouble is, it bounces around a lot and this effects the plugs which are not screw in. It even cuts out if I hit a real lumpy patch!
Iíve a big wide area to flush mount it but are there any downsides to this before I cut a big hole in the grp?
Cheers, Joe
__________________

__________________
JMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 August 2020, 12:23   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Isle of Man
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 11
Not in my opinion. Makes it a lot harder to steal which a huge bonus
__________________

__________________
wgc851 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 August 2020, 14:20   #3
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9,860
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMW View Post
Hi,

I have a Garmin echomap 65 which has been surface mounted as I replaced another unit so it was the easy option. Trouble is, it bounces around a lot and this effects the plugs which are not screw in. It even cuts out if I hit a real lumpy patch!

Iíve a big wide area to flush mount it but are there any downsides to this before I cut a big hole in the grp?

Cheers, Joe


How old is it?
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 August 2020, 14:44   #4
JMW
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: East Cowes
Make: Avon
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 6
RIBase
Less than 12 months old.
Why do you ask? Would age make any difference?
I didnít think it would make a difference but always happy to be enlightened
__________________
JMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 August 2020, 14:48   #5
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9,860
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMW View Post
Less than 12 months old.

Why do you ask? Would age make any difference?

I didnít think it would make a difference but always happy to be enlightened


Itís just that I wouldnít be taking the saw to a nice virgin console to fit a 10yr old plotter. If itís a new model & still current, then flush mount is the way to go.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 August 2020, 14:51   #6
JMW
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: East Cowes
Make: Avon
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 6
RIBase
Ah!
Miscommunication here!
Rib is 10+ years old. Plotter less than a year old
__________________
JMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 August 2020, 15:22   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brixham
Boat name: Jazz
Make: XS
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 109
I had the a 65 in the bracket mount on my old rib. Never had any problems with loose cables even in some pretty lively conditions. I suspect that even flush fitting in the console you're going to have the same problem unless you can secure the cables better.
__________________
36valley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 August 2020, 03:33   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Poole
Boat name: ORCA III
Make: Compass 490
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mariner 60 efi
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 58
If I remember correctly there was a piece that clipped on the back to hold cables.
__________________

__________________
mickter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.