Old 14 August 2008, 18:24   #1

Town: Rigaud, Que.
Boat name: Rigaud Explorer
Make: 6m Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam115
New to inflatables but not boats.

Hello to all,

Great site to share info and found quite a lot of answers to questions I had using the search link. I'm new to inflatables but not to boats since my dad introduced me to boats @ age one. lolll 43 years later I'm still just as hooked on boats or even more than ever. I am in the process of purchasing a friends boat which I know very well and rode in many times in the past 6-7 years.

Boat:

1998 Bombard explorer 600 with center console and all open front deck.
1998 Yamaha V4 115 2-stroke (19" prop)
GPS
Depth finder
VHF
Etc...

The boat was sitting for the last 2 years in a shelter on my property for storage since he wasn't using it and not certain to keep it or not. This spring my friend offered to sell it to me and I jump on it.

Boat itself is in great shape but required some cleaning the ropes along the tubes which are mounted as an accessorie where coming off. I removed everything carefully and now am in the process to go purchase the right glue plus solvents to do the repair/maintenance.

The console is a 24"wide being replaced with a 40" plus a proper double seat which will give me seating for 4 comfortably. 45L fuel tank in back will remain but adding another 68L tank in front console. I get 80-100km per tank @ cruising speed with 4-5 right now so the added tank will allow me to go longer.

Motor started this spring but ran really rough so I suspected he had stored the boat without fuel stabilizer. Opened the fuel pump and yep, full of varnish inside plus the floats in all carbs where really bad. Took everything apart rebuilt and it ran pretty good except top end which lasts 30 secs. Cleaned everything from the bottom of the tank, replaced filters and still same problem. Fuel pump has no leaks but I was told it's the original, guess that's also another part to pick up today.