Old 20 May 2010, 20:11   #1

Town: St Davids
Boat name: Mellifera
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard
RIBase
Avon Supersport 4M?

Hi, I am pretty new to ribbing so this year we have upgraded from our 3M Flatacraft which leaked air like sieve and would only get on the plane if you jumped up and down a few times on the bow whilst at full throttle! (although the poor old girl was only powered by a 4 horse)

Anyway to cut a long story short i found this forum and decieded i quite fancied a 4m Searider after all the good things i read and i found a boat locally that i thought was a Searider which in actual fact turns out to be a Supersport.

I have been trying to find out about the boat but i don't seem to able to establish much on the internet so i thought i would post this and see what experience can teach me.

From another useful post on this site i think the hull was made in 1990 as the HIN is: AVB81684F990?

The boat is fitted with a center console and remotes but i am guessing this is post factory?

What i was wondering was how this model compares to the Searider and what the main differences are, i can post pictures if it helps?

Anyway i would love to hear about any experiences or tips other people have had with this boat. Thanks.
Old 20 May 2010, 23:17   #2

Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Welcome to Rib.net

Is that RIB the one with a Soozook 55? Supersport S4.65?

I've been out on a few of these and I have to say, I don't rate them - they have a medium vee hull which slap like hell in anything other than flat calm. Other differences are a moulded GRP deck and a layout & construction much more leisure orientated than the rescue/commercial ruggedness of the Searider.