Old 05 May 2010, 23:40   #1

Length: no boat
Aux motors: the theory...

As can be seen in another thread, I am new to ribbing and currently seeking out my first 'starter' RIB. I have seen a few I am interested in, but what keeps niggling me is that they have no auxilliary engine. I seem to rarely see them on ribs?

I plan to use the boat I buy on the Atlantic coast of the Isle of Lewis, and while I will do the necessary RYA PB2 and VHF course...the thought of engine malfunction fills me with dread.

I just really wanted to hear what the thinking is on the subject. Is it: "buy a good engine and keep it maticulously maintained, and the chances of failure are slim"? I mean, I hear that well maintained 2 strokes are very reliable...but does age come into it?

One of the boats I am interested in is a Searider 5.4. Can you mount an aux. engine on this boat? There doesn't seem to be enough room on the transom. Also, the ubiquitous Yamaha Outboards these come with...are they reliable?

Any thoughts/advice/philosophys welcome. Thanks again.
Old 06 May 2010, 00:15   #2
RIBnet admin team

Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by ooglewoogle View Post

One of the boats I am interested in is a Searider 5.4. Can you mount an aux. engine on this boat? There doesn't seem to be enough room on the transom.
There is, just. I have a nearly identical Searider. I can just fit a 2.2hp Suzuki on the transom next to the main engine. It's very very slow but it'll give me steerage way (and I can use it for trolling a fishing lure )
Quote:
Originally Posted by ooglewoogle View Post
Also, the ubiquitous Yamaha Outboards these come with...are they reliable?
Hell yeah.Just keep them serviced and they last for a very long time.

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 May 2010, 00:30   #3