Old 11 September 2007, 19:58   #1

Town: Swindon
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 250 Yam 15
Advise on a suitable rib ....

Guys

I'm quite new to ribbing and own a Zodiac pro open 550 which has been a great family boat for mostly bay hopping around Devon and Cornwall. I want to move away from 'leisure rib' (by virtue of the seating arrangement) and get one which is suitable for more adventurous travels I have a Honda 90 and it seems to happy at 20-25 knt all day long with a max of about 30 knot a 5000 rpm; so its over propped just a bit. Always seem economical - on Sunday did swanick to Lymington over to Newtown then upto Folly for a beer and back to swanick for about £30 which I didn't think was bad considering most was at 25knts.

What is the zodiac pro designed for?

What would I need for example to be able to do say an Alderney, channel island or Scilly isles type trip that I read about in the cruises section?

I was thinking of maybe 6.5m-7.5m with something like a 140; so its able to c40knts and yet be economical. But really it needs to be trailerable for trips to SW.

Can you guys suggest some sea going models to consider - As i dont know anything about the pros and cons of certain designs

Also what the best way of selling the exisiting boat via a broker or ebay or some other way?

Cheers
Brew
Old 13 September 2007, 12:42   #2

Town: Port Logan
Boat name: Red Fox
Make: Zodiac Pro 500
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 70hp
MMSI: 232004329