Old 23 October 2020, 11:09   #1

Length: 3m +
Introduction and a first question right away :-)

Hi, I am new to the forum and would have a question to those of you with some experience right away.

I am currently considering the purchase of either a used Zodiac 360 Fastroller (built in 2016) or a new Zodiac Cadet Aero 350 (2020 model).

Any recommendations towards one or the other? I am really rather new to boating, my first impression is that the Fastroller belongs to a higher category in terms of market / target group positioning but I don't really know (yet) which features should be taken into considertation when comparing the two.

My intention is to primarily use it with a Torqueedo electric engine on one of the lakes here in Bavaria, Germany, so I guess weigth is one of the key criteria.

Thanks for any feedback and I look forward to sharing more once I've made my decision and have become a boat owner myself :-)

Stay safe!

Andreas
Old 23 October 2020, 11:13   #2

One limitation that I am not sure how to value is that the Fastroller is certified for a maximum of 10 HP while the Aero allows up to 15 HP. As written before, both would easily support the Torqueedo I am looking at for operation on our local lake, but I feel that if I ever wanted to upgrade to a stronger engine, I should probably keep as many options as possible, i.e. be able to go up to 15 HP which also is the limit here in Germany before having to get a licence.
Old 23 October 2020, 11:15   #3

Town: teesside
Boat name: magic
Make: humber 5.5
Length: 5m +
Engine: mariner 115
MMSI: 232012453
the fastroller is quite a heavy sib and more suited to a larger powered outboard i had one with a 25hp yamaha on it was very entertaining .i believe the lighter cadet will be better suited to an electric outboard . though i would only be comfortable using it on flat inland water
Old 23 October 2020, 11:29   #4

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8