Old 21 November 2012, 08:45   #1

Boat name: ShaarkBait
Make: Zodiac 3.6 FR
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 9.9 4-stroke
IanH says Hello

Im returning back to boating after too long.

When I was much younger, I was really into sailing, mucking about then instructing in boats all my spare time allowed. I was an RYA Sailing Instructor at 18 and held my Sports And Rescue Boat Cox and owned a Laser 2 Sailing Dinghy. This was in the days of the old RYA Elementary, Intermediate and Advanced qualifications. However, apart from a couple of weeks a year sailing from St Aubins Fort in Jersey (enjoying the 20 foot rollers off of Courbier lighthouse was my most memorable event), most of my boating was non tidal. I still have a heathy respect for the sea.

Almost overnight, I stopped sailing. I think it was a mix of degree, fast cars and women, then work work work.

My son is now 8 and during the summer, he went on a one day boating taster course where I use to sail. Thankfully he really enjoyed it, even though he got very wet and cold. He also went on a Rib excursion off of Littlehampton and came back with a big grin on his face (unlike someones 3 year old who was sitting behind).

We are also fortunate to have access to a flat in Littlehampton on the River Arun, overlooking the RNLI station. So as a family we have built up an affinity with the sea, but not on it.