Old 26 June 2018, 21:58   #1

Town: Reading
Boat name: JALSA
Make: Honwave T32IE2
Length: 3m +
Engine: Honda BF6
Hello from Reading/And some questions

Hi All, complete newbie to this forum as well as boating. Have been planning on getting a cruiser boat for some time but the wise Mrs is worried that I may not use it as often as I proudly claim (I do this a lot ). Hence, shifting my focus to SIB/RIB- mainly to see if boating is something we will enjoy and that the boat will be put to use more.

Our primary usage will be on Thames river (Goring/Reading/Maidenhead etc.), for leisure purposes (cruising I guess).

Brilliant advise on this forum and I am slowly trying to get answers to most of them but would appreciate if someone could advise on a few quick questions.

1. In terms of legal paperwork, for an SIB/RIB, I would need an boat insurance and boat license. Anything else?

2. How do you decide the apt length of the boat? It will mainly be my wife, our 1.5 years old son and I (us being in our mid thirties). Would a 4m be an overkill or it is good to have additional space.

3. Tagging on the previous question, is it advisable to go boating with a 1.5 year old? Is it too soon and should I hold on buying something for a couple of more years? Life jackets will be a must for all of us, anyway.

4. For now, I am keen on 4m SIB with 20hp OB. Does this sound like a reasonable combination given the size of the group? I will keep an eye on the classifieds to see if anything comes up for a good price.

5. I am planning to do a day-course at Bisham Sailing School on the basics i.e. boat handling, rules of the road, operating the locks, safety etc. Is this reasonable/logical to kick-start my first journey. Of course, if any kind SIB/RIB owner in and around Reading is planning on a trip and won't mind a crew member, I am more than happy to assist and get a feel for this new hobby.

Any advise is appreciated. Glad to be part of this community.
Old 27 June 2018, 07:05   #2