Old 16 June 2013, 17:25   #1

Make: Highfield
Length: 3m +
Engine: 20 hp
Zoom SP400 vs Classic 2C vs Honwave T40-AE

I am looking to get my first SIB but want some advice. I have some experience with 5m Ribs and sailing dinghies. I plan to use it around the Scottish coast so it will not always be flat conditions, so typically a short 0.3m chop with a longer 1 to 1.5 m swell on top. The use will be mainly going around the North sea coastal areas small islands such as Bass Rock, possibly fishing but mainly looking at wildlife as well as a certain amount of general playing around and pulling the teenagers on a wakeboard, landing on beaches for a picnic.

I suspect that often it will be me only or just with my son, though could have a whole family of 4 people. Realistically using I am looking at using once a week or so through the summer and used for holidays as well.

Size wise I have been thinking that a 4m SIB is about the right size. I plan to put a 20 hp (Honda, or Yamaha, or Tohatsu) on the back. Tiller steered with possible electric start if I can afford it. A SIB would be packed away for the winter but would look to use a trailer in the summer.

The Zodiac classic is the best made but also the most expensive. If I went for the Zodiac Zoom or the Honwave would I see much difference in handling performance and durability. The zoom has glued seems, not sure about the Honwave.

Any comments or experience or thought on the Honwave or Zoom or the above plan?

Thanks,
David
Old 16 June 2013, 17:49   #2

Make: Destroyer 5.5/Ring18
Engine: Yam 90HP/Yam200HP
I have a zodiac mk2c with the aluminium floor, a trailer and a Yamaha 25hp 2 stroke.

I think it's a great package, even folding it away to use when I take the caravan away.

I also have the zodiac launching wheels which work well.

Craig
Old 22 June 2013, 17:25   #3

69mcw,
Thank you for your reply, that sounds like a good setup.