Old 20 July 2017, 16:05   #1

Make: Zodiac FR 340
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 9.8 4 Stroke
Options on portable outboard

So i have a Zodiac Fastroller 340.
And i want your opinions of a portable outboard.

I currently have a Tohatsu 9.8 4 stroke, which ive been using for roughly 7 years. Its gotten to the point where i feel its too heavy to move around all the time. Its 93 lbs + gas tank

Theres 2 used motors being sold locally that i m interested in.

1. Yamaha 1998 9.9HP 2 Stroke. I dont actually know the weight of this, but i imgaine it to be significantly lighter than my current 4 stroke. I've read online its 79 lbs, can anyone confirm? I used to own a 2stroke so know about the smoke, oil/gas ratio etc.

2. A Yamaha 2016 6HP 4 Stroke. It weighs 60 lbs and has an integrated gas tank. It will save me lot of room since i don't have to store the tank in the boat which is on the small side already.

I generally use the boat on medium sized lakes to fish or just to swim. i wont be pulling anything around.

Also is a 6HP engine a lot slower than a 9.8?

Thanks
Old 20 July 2017, 20:30   #2

Town: North wales
Make: Europa Sport
Engine: Johnson 25
6hp is a fair amount slower. But if your using it on lakes to just go fish. Who really cares about speed. It will just about get 2 up in your sib on the plane.

I've used a merc 6hp 4stroke and it planes my 3.3m sib easily enough. But no were near the power of my 9.8hp 4t although I now need more

I'd suggest buy the 6hp and keep your 9.9 for a few weeks to see how you go. Then either way one has to be sold.
Old 20 July 2017, 21:06   #3

Town: Ipswich
Boat name: Click and Collect
Make: Valiant and Narwhal
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard
See if you can find a Tohatsu 9.8 2 Stroke weight is 26 KG and very powerful
Old 20 July 2017, 21:49   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by rossymtb View Post