Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Inflatable boats - SIBs and folding RIBs
Click Here to Login

Old 02 April 2022, 21:21   #1

Buying a used sib and outboard - what should you check?

Hi all, I'm new to sibbing (and boating) and wanting to purchase a used sib and outboard.

I've been reading through posts on here since last year and am seriously looking at purchasing something in the next couple of months ready for the summer.

So, I'm wondering what should I be checking when buying a used Sib or outboard. I can't seem to find any thread on here with a comprehensive check list and I have almost zero idea when I go and see sibs and outboard what I'm actually looking for to check they are not lemons?

Any advice or a list of what to check on each would be a huge help and greatly appreciated.

Thanks

James
Old 02 April 2022, 21:48   #2

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
As with anything place a good amount of importance judging the seller and what he tells you about previous use etc.

With a SIB just a few years old it should be fine unless one of the compartments has a leak or there is any obvious damage. You do want to see it inflated. If a SIB is 15-20 years old though consider a very careful check of the glued seams as these can fail.

Extras like transom wheels, seat bags, bow bags, anchor etc and an elec pump are useful.

With the outboard make sure you see that started from cold and it should go in 1-3 pulls and soon settle to a regular idle with the choke pushed in. If a 4-stroke there should be no blue smoke from the exhaust and of course the cooling tell tale should have a strong steady stream. It should look almost new under the cowl and it's good to see a clean prop free of impact damage. Check it hot restarts in one pull.

Always a plus if the seller has the handbook and original toolkit.