Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Engines & props
Click Here to Login

Old 29 June 2020, 09:34   #1

Town: Lancashire
Make: Osprey Eagle
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard
Suzuki DT100 prop size and pitch.

Is there just one prop for this or can I change to different ones for better performance etc. Any advice would be appreciated.
Old 29 June 2020, 10:15   #2

Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 70hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
RIBase
Welcome to the forum.

You need to explain a little more as to what you're trying to achieve. I'm no Osprey expert, but on a 6m RIB, I'd have thought you're under-powered for starters, so yes changing the prop pitch will help, but all things being relative it's not going to overwhelmingly change the situation.

How many people on board normally, fuel capacity and any other things to take into account weight-wise. You need the tacho and maximum WOT for this engine before you start changing props to see how much wiggle room you have.

For your engine it's 5,250-5750 rpm.
https://www.rubexprops.com/boat-prop...e/?make=Suzuki
Old 29 June 2020, 11:52   #3

Hiya bud
Thanks for your reply [emoji1303]
This is about a rib I have just acquired.
I’ve had fishing boats but first time on a rib. From what I can gather the max size is 115hp for this particular one. I’m going to run this 100 for the time being and see how she is. Also read somewhere that they may have uprated it to a 150 so need to do a little more homework on this. The prop is goosed and needs replacing at the moment. I looked for one and it’s a bit of a minefield. Ally / stainless
Pitch etc.
The chart helps a lot[emoji1303]
Old 29 June 2020, 11:53   #4

There will be around 2 to 3 ppl on board.
Old 29 June 2020, 17:19   #5

Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 70hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
RIBase