Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 06 December 2003, 15:12   #1
Member
 
nugent's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bromsgrove
Boat name: Kick-Ass !
Make: PAC/Artic 22
Length: 6m +
Engine: 250hp Yamaha
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,515
super chippin mariner engine

weird me finks. have just been told to day, that you can get mariner 135hp and have it chipped to be + on hp as it is the same lump as the 170 motor just mapped out on the management side different,,
i finks some one is full a $*#t ..any clever buggers know other wise.. sounds to good to be true to me...
??
__________________
nugent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2003, 18:14   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Southampton
Boat name: DynaMoHumm/ SRV/deja
Make: Avon8.4, 5.4 & 4.777
Length: 8m +
Engine: Cat3126 Yam 90 &70
MMSI: 42
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,559
if its the same block then why not
__________________

__________________
Here it comes again, I don't stand a chance
Soul possession, Got me in a trance
Pullin' me back to you - Deja Voodoo
Rogue Wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2003, 18:28   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Jersey
Boat name: Craka Daux
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 128
Send a message via MSN to nick wood
plus hp

You can have any engine chiped as long as it has electronic fuel managment, people use them in there cars and it gives them more hp, the mariner 135 is efi so im sure you can.
__________________
nick wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2003, 18:36   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,392
I can see how you can have different fueling and/or ignition timing, but where do you get the extra air from? 35 extra horses is a lot.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2003, 18:44   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Jersey
Boat name: Craka Daux
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 128
Send a message via MSN to nick wood
hp chip

not to sure, at a guss a bigger air intake or sumthing like that, but when you use the extra hp you go faster and lets more air in not sure.
__________________
nick wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 December 2003, 04:04   #6
Member
 
nugent's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bromsgrove
Boat name: Kick-Ass !
Make: PAC/Artic 22
Length: 6m +
Engine: 250hp Yamaha
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,515
ye me finks some one is pulling me pisser on this one


cheers for your imput guys! happy RIB-in
__________________
nugent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 December 2003, 14:41   #7
Member
 
ribraff's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dartmouth
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,218
?

Surely it's a case of a different set up on the carb's, ie 75hp and 90hp 2 strokes, same engine but different carb's?
__________________
Hypalon Tubes built in-house,retubing, repairs, Accessories
www.ribtube.co.uk
ribraff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 December 2003, 07:13   #8
Member
 
Country: UK
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5.85m
Engine: Mariner 115hp 4 stroke running on LPG
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 31
Are you talking about optimax, Efi or four strokes?
__________________
Drive it like you stole it!
Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 December 2003, 07:37   #9
Member
 
nugent's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bromsgrove
Boat name: Kick-Ass !
Make: PAC/Artic 22
Length: 6m +
Engine: 250hp Yamaha
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,515
its an optimax
__________________
nugent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 December 2003, 08:29   #10
Member
 
Country: UK
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5.85m
Engine: Mariner 115hp 4 stroke running on LPG
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 31
Well its possible but there is no chips available for the ECM as i know of, as its a sealed unit.
My guess would be that you would have to have the ECM reprogrammed. Why not just by a bigger engine? I dont think the hassle is worth it!.
Although you could try putting a 175hp ECM on a 135 but i dont thinkit would work.
But i think i might try it at work just out of interest!!!
__________________
Drive it like you stole it!
Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 December 2003, 10:32   #11
Member
 
nugent's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bromsgrove
Boat name: Kick-Ass !
Make: PAC/Artic 22
Length: 6m +
Engine: 250hp Yamaha
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,515
go for it m8 and ;let us know,,,
__________________
nugent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 December 2003, 15:46   #12
Member
 
gtflash's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: TOP CAT 2
Make: Scorpion 8.1
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250hp HO
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,518
with cars, chips usually only produce good results with turbo or diesel motors. On N/A motors chips produce very little gains. They really only help remap the fuelling and power curves to compensate for extra air induction and sports exhausts or to reshape peaky power and torque curves to get better driveability. Cant see it workin on an outboard (and i love moding cars and boats!!) you could try nitrous!!! tell ya crew to sit down 1st mind!
__________________
gtflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 December 2003, 16:14   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Bumbl
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: Yanmar diesel
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,837
Quote:
Originally posted by gtflash
you could try nitrous
I have enough trouble staying in the boat already remeber!

Seriously, i though the humper said this WAS the case... comeon Stu what's the deal? Fact or gossip?
__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 December 2003, 16:36   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brittany/Portsmouth
Boat name: Merlin
Make: Solent 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200
MMSI: soon !
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5,451
This came up on the Mariner site http://www.marinepower.com/

you have to then click on the tech forums and the question is listed.

From memory the carbs need changing
__________________
Happy New Resolutions!!! : RIBbing for the craic!!!
The Jackeens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 December 2003, 17:04   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Southampton
Boat name: DynaMoHumm/ SRV/deja
Make: Avon8.4, 5.4 & 4.777
Length: 8m +
Engine: Cat3126 Yam 90 &70
MMSI: 42
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,559
My Scorpion was originally built for Nokia's PR company. and was owned by them for 9 months and Nokia pulled the plug. During this time it was maintained by Fairweather Marine, I was talking to Lee on eday and mentioned that I had bought the Nokia boat and he told me it had the ECU swapped out for one that had been meant for a 200.

That's all I know really
__________________
Here it comes again, I don't stand a chance
Soul possession, Got me in a trance
Pullin' me back to you - Deja Voodoo
Rogue Wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 December 2003, 13:38   #16
TIM
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Dublin
Boat name: WIZARD
Make: REDBAY 7.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: OPTI 225
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 417
Re chipping 2 strokes

I think rechipping a 2 stroke is a waste of time,
as the power curve, final hp and revs, are all controled buy the height of the exaust port , and when the transfer ports get cut off buy the piston.......

The new fuel injection units only eleminate the waste fuel, and can compinsate for flat spots etc, but it all limited by the amount of air you can get in on top of the piston before the ports shut and the fuel is injected..... OK Opti, ficht , Hdpi, all work slightly different.. same rules apply

Grinding a port 1.5mm higher can make a huge differance to the hp/ power curve, and then its down to exaust resienance, Ie the shock wave from the pistion is timed to exit the end of the exaust just as the next shock wave is happening at the head, this is so they dont slow each other down, thats why preformance, exausts look like spigitti so they are all the same lenght ..........

Bla bla bla....

Basicly NO it wont work very well on a 2 stroke......
__________________
NOT THE SHARPEST KNIFE IN THE DRAWER
TIM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2003, 07:33   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Oban
Boat name: RIB Tickle
Make: Humber Assault
Length: 5.3m
Engine: Yamaha 60ETO,Tohatsu 3.5
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 371
power ups

This has prompted me to ask much the same question. I have a 92 60 Yam and looking through the spec it seems to be identical to the 70 hp. What needs to be changed to get the extra 10 hp?
__________________
Rupert Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2003, 11:12   #18
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,909
Rupert, the main differences will be in the carbs and possibly th reed valves. On new engines the cost of buying a small engine and coverting it will always be more than buying the larger engine in the first place.


If you really want to make it go sell the 60 and put a Yam 90 on it. They are quite light and very robust engines just make sure it isn't one off a race boat.

Pete
__________________

__________________
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.