Old 01 December 2021, 13:14   #1

Length: no boat
New outboard - mariner or suzuki

Hi all, I'm about to repower an old speedboat with a 120 Johnson V4 on the back. I'm getting conflicting advice about what brands/models to go for...wondered if I could take the temperature of Rib.net on the question. I've been offered a 2005 Optimax 115 for £3,500 which seems a fair deal at the moment...but then another mechanic (who I trust) said that I shouldn't touch anything Mariner with a barge pole...he reckons I should wait for a good suzuki or yamaha to come up - probably at a higher price.

Any wisdom?

Thanks!
Old 01 December 2021, 13:32   #2

Town: north ayrshire
Boat name: charlie girl
Make: S/R5.4/regal3760
Length: 10m +
Engine: Suzukidf70 2x6lp 315
I've heard optimax referred to as optibombs but I've no personal experience. I'd probably agree with your engineer any yamaha 2 or 4 stroke but probably not an hpdi or Suzuki 4 stroke (definitely not a 2stroke suzuki). At that price point your looking at an older engine so any could be a gamble with any make

Sent from my SM-G950F using RIB Net mobile app
Old 01 December 2021, 19:13   #3

Length: 3m +
Quote:
Originally Posted by searider12 View Post
Hi all, I'm about to repower an old speedboat with a 120 Johnson V4 on the back. I'm getting conflicting advice about what brands/models to go for...wondered if I could take the temperature of Rib.net on the question. I've been offered a 2005 Optimax 115 for £3,500 which seems a fair deal at the moment...but then another mechanic (who I trust) said that I shouldn't touch anything Mariner with a barge pole...he reckons I should wait for a good suzuki or yamaha to come up - probably at a higher price.

Any wisdom?

Thanks!
He's right. Yamaha or Suzuki all day long
Old 02 December 2021, 17:16   #4

Town: Farnborough
Boat name: Narcissus
Make: Cobra
Length: 7m +
Engine: Optimax 225