Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 11 May 2013, 21:09   #1
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Arlington
Boat name: Clear Cut
Make: Polaris
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard, petrol,150
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 82
installing a limit switch in the power tilt?

So my 12 year old Yamaha 150 two stroke was stolen and I have re-powered with a Yamaha 150 4 stroke. So far I like the engine a lot, its a lot quieter and makes the boat go better. I almost feel like thanking the thieving scum.

The boat is configured with an engine pod past the transom. I have a dive ladder that gets stored on the outboard side of the transom. The old motor would contact the ladder at the extreme up position and the cowling was the worse for wear because first I, and then friends would raise the motor without looking back and run it into the ladder. Most of us would do it just once, but I have one friend that made a habit out of it.

The new motor's cowling geometry makes the problem even worse. At some point in a moment of inattention either I or a friend will raise the motor into the ladder (and now the transom if the ladder isn't there).

It occurred to me that a normally closed limit switch could be mounted on the engine bracket so that it would cut power to the engine tilt before it contacts the dive ladder or the transom. It would have to be a pretty hardy, environmentally sealed switch since it would live bathed in salt water.

Anyone run into this situation and come up with a solution? My new cowling is all shiny and blemish free, for now.
__________________

__________________
Steve
Have boat, will travel.
4str is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 02:35   #2
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,854
RIBase
Move the ladder?

Maybe not as daft as it sounds. There are dive/bathing ladders that can be deployed over the side of the tubes, rather than bolted to the transom. Agreed the transom one is going to be the best option, but I can see this ending with a scratched cowl if you don't pay attention, which is highly likely according to 'sods law!'

Can the existing Yamaha trim sender switch be modified in any way?
__________________

__________________
Is that with or without VAT?
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 02:38   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Plymouth
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,693
Suzuki have this feature installed, not sure why the others haven't followed suit yet.

Peter @ Boatsandoutboards4sale ~ www.BoatsandOutboards4Sale.co.uk ~ 07930 421007
__________________
Boats&Outboards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 03:44   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,840
RIBase
If I remember correctly, Mercury used to use a trim limit switch on their first PTT system-the type with 2 independent rams bolted to the outside of the saddle.

It might be possible to retrofit one?
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 03:51   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Isle of Wight mostly
Make: Regal
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercruiser
MMSI: 235911246
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
If I remember correctly, Mercury used to use a trim limit switch on their first PTT system-the type with 2 independent rams bolted to the outside of the saddle.

It might be possible to retrofit one?
Is this why my 75 opti (with one ram) trims all the way up at the same speed, whereas an older 175 clamshell merc trimmed slowly, then went into a quicker tilt mode, which was a good feature?
__________________
solent spence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 04:17   #6
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,840
RIBase
Not sure, but the switch I'm talking about is from circa 1979.



Bet your clamshell was 3 rams.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 05:09   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
How old is your yamaha 150hp four stroke

You can buy a tilt limit fit from yamaha which can be fitted to outboards

Pm me your serial number and I can look on the yamaha parts system to see your engine has the connector
__________________
leemarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 19:40   #8
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Arlington
Boat name: Clear Cut
Make: Polaris
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard, petrol,150
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by leemarlow View Post
How old is your yamaha 150hp four stroke

You can buy a tilt limit fit from yamaha which can be fitted to outboards

Pm me your serial number and I can look on the yamaha parts system to see your engine has the connector
Thanks! This is a new Yami, and if this exists I'll be ecstatic. The mechanic at the dealership I bought it from has a query into Yamaha but he has not heard anything back. He did say that the larger engines had this capability but not mine.

Thanks again.
__________________
Steve
Have boat, will travel.
4str is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2013, 03:00   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Just checked parts listing yes one can be fitted.


Pm sent
__________________
leemarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2013, 03:54   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
If I remember correctly, Mercury used to use a trim limit switch on their first PTT system-the type with 2 independent rams bolted to the outside of the saddle.

It might be possible to retrofit one?
Loos like problem already solved, but yes, when I was looking at retro-fitting PT to my clamshell I did look at a modified version of that external ram gubbinry. (With some bespoke hydralic plumbing to put the hydraulic unit under the seat for neatness)

Yes, it had a limit switch, as the rams were "simple". The idea was that to Tilt (for towing / beach landing etc) you had to override the stop with a button. Theory was that if it trinmmed too far up, the swivel would clear the clamps and the entire engine would be simply supported by the tilt tube, one turn and the casting would break due to the levarage.

The modern rams have a "bypass" duct at an appropriate place with a low(er) pressure dump valve so the cyl can't hold the prop thrust and it will only tilt beyond there when the engine isn't pushing it back down.
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2013, 08:32   #11
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Arlington
Boat name: Clear Cut
Make: Polaris
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard, petrol,150
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by leemarlow View Post
Just checked parts listing yes one can be fitted.


Pm sent
Thanks for that. If you were not half way around the world you would be my new boat maintenance shop.

I think I am going to embarrass my current shop this morning. They did not know about this, they are a Yamaha dealer and they service a lot of boats.
__________________
Steve
Have boat, will travel.
4str is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2013, 21:26   #12
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Arlington
Boat name: Clear Cut
Make: Polaris
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard, petrol,150
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 82
A followup.

I installed the switch today and it works perfectly. It looks like it is built for its environment, it is a sealed switch that senses a magnet to cut power to the tilt. The instal was pretty easy.

I only wish it was installed last Saturday - doh!

Thanks again.
__________________
Steve
Have boat, will travel.
4str is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 May 2013, 15:22   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,378
Mercury have built in trim limits on the Verado and some opti's you just set the trim limit up through the laptop. Merc also do a trim limit switch that you can retro fit but its pretty crap, it uses a mercury tilt switch and its not very accurate!
__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 May 2013, 17:18   #14
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,023
My optimax's came with a plastic tube that clips onto the tilt ram inside the cylinder to limit tilt up.

Took me a while to work out why I couldn't tilt them up all the way!
__________________

__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.