Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Engines & props
Click Here to Login

Old 02 September 2003, 11:13   #1

Town: Bude, Cornwall
Avon SeaRider 4m, 70hp, advice please

I'm considering the purchase of a 20 year old Avon SeaRider 4m RIB but its fitted with an Evinrude 70hp triple, which is the engine its had from new. It strikes me as being a huge engine for a little boat. Is there anything I should be wary of with this set-up. The boat appears to be in good general condition for its age and the vendor is asking £1750 for it. I should add that I'm a novice to RIB ownership although I've been RNLI D-Class crew for 4 years. Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Many thanks - Tim
Old 02 September 2003, 11:25   #2

Town: Saltash, Cornwall
Make: Rib less:-(
Length: no boat
Hi Tim
I aggree a 70Hp on a 4m searider is a bit excessive.
I think they are plated to a max of 40-50Hp - I'm sure some one will correct this.
What is the transom like I have seen lots of that age where the plywood has rotted out.
If you do a search there has been quite a few threads on things to look for buying second hand.
Rgds
James
Old 02 September 2003, 11:55   #3

Town: West Sussex
Length: no boat
Avon say in their literature that max 50HP for the SR4.0M Searider and useful 25-40HP

Andre
Old 02 September 2003, 13:12   #4

Town: Whitstable
Boat name: Tango
Make: Avon and Narwhal2.4m
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60HP Yamaha
Too much power

Hi Tim