Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 07 June 2011, 18:06   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,404
Quick Reply box - shrink/expand arrow missing

A little request please, see how there is a little up arrow on some panels to shrink/expand them, can I have one on the Quick Reply pane to shrink it to nothingness? Ta.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 June 2011, 18:09   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,882
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
A little request please, see how there is a little up arrow on some panels to shrink/expand them, can I have one on the Quick Reply pane to shrink it to nothingness? Ta.
It's already got one hasn't it?
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 June 2011, 18:15   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,404
Well sumone musta nicked mine.

Edit: I don't mean the little double arrows which make the quick reply into a diatribe reply, I mean one like wot the Posting Rules pane has.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2011, 04:05   #4
Administrator
 
John Kennett's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brighton
Length: 3m +
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 6,997
Don't you have the arrow on the right hand side of the dark blue bar that says "Quick Reply"? You should have
__________________
John Kennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2011, 04:41   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kennett View Post
Don't you have the arrow on the right hand side of the dark blue bar that says "Quick Reply"? You should have
No I don't, that's why I wus askin.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	32.9 KB
ID:	59991  
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2011, 04:55   #6
Administrator
 
John Kennett's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brighton
Length: 3m +
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 6,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
No I don't, that's why I wus askin.
OK, we'll try to track it down for you. What browser are you using?
__________________
John Kennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2011, 05:08   #7
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,412
I wonder if JW is having the same issue as I'm seeing, which I'm currently putting down to different versions of IE displaying the site in different ways.

For example.
At home the 'wave' design down the side of the different sections is very Light Blue if there are no new posts, and has a couple of small Dark Blue bits in it if there is a new post.

At work it is a sort of Mid Blue with no new posts, and has dark blue bits plus Red bits if there is a new post. The Red bits do not appear at home at all.

Itís obviously not a problem as I know whatís what, but it is an inconsistency.

My main issue is how slow the site is now at home, which Iím not getting with other sites.
I think that the extra content is slowing it down, and my terrible connection just canít cope with it. Not a lot can be done about it really.

Nasher.
__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2011, 05:24   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kennett View Post
OK, we'll try to track it down for you. What browser are you using?
Ok, ta. Firefox.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2011, 05:43   #9
Administrator
 
John Kennett's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brighton
Length: 3m +
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 6,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nasher View Post
I wonder if JW is having the same issue as I'm seeing, which I'm currently putting down to different versions of IE displaying the site in different ways.

For example.
At home the 'wave' design down the side of the different sections is very Light Blue if there are no new posts, and has a couple of small Dark Blue bits in it if there is a new post.

At work it is a sort of Mid Blue with no new posts, and has dark blue bits plus Red bits if there is a new post. The Red bits do not appear at home at all.

Itís obviously not a problem as I know whatís what, but it is an inconsistency.
Actually it's because we've been trying different versions of those graphics, so it's not a browser issue. We've nearly got to ones I'm happy with!
__________________
John Kennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2011, 05:47   #10
Administrator
 
John Kennett's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brighton
Length: 3m +
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 6,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
Ok, ta. Firefox.
Hmm. What version? It's working fine for me in Firefox.
__________________
John Kennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2011, 05:56   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kennett View Post
Hmm. What version? It's working fine for me in Firefox.
It says: 6.0; en-GB; rv:1.8.1.20) Gecko/20081217 Firefox/2.0.0.20 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729). Is that a help? I've got the wee arrows on the other panels and they work fine.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	39.8 KB
ID:	60001  
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2011, 06:07   #12
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11,099
John - I have the same issue with the arrow (ie. missing on Quick Reply but not on others) on Firefox on the office (Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.9.1.8) Gecko/20100214 Linux Mint/8 (Helena) Firefox/3.5.8). No issues with Chrome.

But I am occasionally getting this when I open the site for the first time...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot-RIBnet Forums - Powered by vBulletin - Google Chrome.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	51.6 KB
ID:	60002  
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2011, 06:29   #13
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
But I am occasionally getting this when I open the site for the first time...
I had that this morning too...gone now
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2011, 12:54   #14
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nasher View Post
At home the 'wave' design down the side of the different sections is VERY feint Light Blue/Light Grey if there are no new posts, and has Darker Blue bits in it if there is a new post. (Note slightly edited as my memory is fading with age)

At work it is a sort of Mid Blue with no new posts, and has dark blue bits plus Red bits if there is a new post. The Red bits do not appear at home at all.
Nasher.
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kennett View Post
Actually it's because we've been trying different versions of those graphics, so it's not a browser issue. We've nearly got to ones I'm happy with!
John
Iíve just logged on at home and have definitely got two different versions exactly as described above. Unless youíve changed them again in between.

Iíve tried logging out and back on both machines and they are still different.
Iím running Internet explorer 9 at home and probably an older version at work.

Tell me Iím, not going mad.

Nasher
__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2011, 14:03   #15
Administrator
 
Janet H's Avatar
 
Country: USA
Town: Pacific NW, USA
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 100
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nasher View Post
Tell me Iím, not going mad.

Nasher
Umm - no fun in that


The version with the red is a cached copy. Try hitting F5 a few times and see if it goes away. The version with the red was a brief (and vetoed) trial.
__________________
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2011, 14:22   #16
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,882
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nasher View Post

Tell me Iím, not going mad.

Nasher
You've been there for years mate
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2011, 15:35   #17
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,954
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
John - I have the same issue with the arrow (ie. missing on Quick Reply but not on others) on Firefox on the office (Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.9.1.8) Gecko/20100214 Linux Mint/8 (Helena) Firefox/3.5.8). No issues with Chrome.

But I am occasionally getting this when I open the site for the first time...
I'm using Chrome and I regularly get that. Also regularly get a page "no reaction from server". Comes along with a little "reload" link (simply refresh I imagine) and after 10 secs and ten clicks of it the page suddenly loads.
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« Revamp | Top | No css »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.