Click Here to Login

Old 22 August 2011, 09:43   #1

Town: Oxford
Boat name: No Boat
Make: No Boat
Length: no boat
Engine: No Boat
New to Ribs and advice needed.

Firstly, I would like to say hello as I am new to both this forum and Ribs . After much deliberating, I have decided to buy a boat. Initially, I was going to go for a Dory but have decided a rib may suit my needs better. The boat will be used mainly in the solent, going around the Isle of Wight and back to the mainland. Budget is an issue and I don't want to spend anymore than £4500. I appreciate this limits my choice considerably. On average, there will be 4 of us in the boat, occasionally 5. I have seen a few Avon 4.5m adventurers for sale and am impressed with the looks of them. However, they will only seat three, with the other passengers on the tubes. Is this comfortable? Are there any other boats people could recommend up to this price range? Further, are there any dealers in the Southampton/portsmouth area that sell boats in this price range? All advice greatly appreciated.
Old 22 August 2011, 17:35   #2
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Some of the locals will be able to comment on dealers in the area. I suspect though at that budget you are more likely to be looking at a private sale.