Old 06 April 2013, 19:20   #1

Town: England
Boat name: n/a
Make: n/a
Length: no boat
Engine: n/a
GRP boat repair

Hi - I have a small GRP dinghy with a small hole in the gunwale on a corner (see pic).

What is the best way to repair something like this? People have suggested marine filler paste, sanding it and then painting it.

I have never done anything like this before so I would appreciate links to suitable products including what the best sort of paint to use for the hull (white) and gunwales/thwarts (blue).

Many thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-04-06 18.44.20.jpg
Views:	223
Size:	101.6 KB
ID:	78363   Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-04-06 17.08.27.jpg
Views:	209
Size:	128.2 KB
ID:	78364  
Old 06 April 2013, 19:26   #2

Town: surrey
Boat name: el nino
Make: tornado humber
Length: 7m +
Engine: outboards
need grinding out at back/ and front
with dremmel
bit mat
then flowcoat bulked up then rub down
Old 06 April 2013, 19:31   #3

Town: England
Boat name: n/a
Make: n/a
Length: no boat
Engine: n/a
Sorry total newbie here.

Is flowcoat the same as paint?

What sticks the glass mat to the boat?
Old 06 April 2013, 21:35   #4
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
rigi36,

It depends what you are trying to achieve. A proper repair on that is going to be time consuming, quite skilled and probably expensive. Not meaning to be rude about the boat, but if you paid a professional it probably wouldn't be worth it.

Flocoat is like "gel coat" (which is not the same as paint - but is the outside, tough, water proof coloured layer on the GRP). Gel coat won't "set" if it is exposed to air (it is normally put in the mould first, then the grp laid up on top), so for use when you are adding it as the final layer people use flocoat - which is a mix of gel and wax - the wax separates to the surface and keeps the air out.