Old 03 June 2018, 07:09   #61

Town: Cheltenham
Make: Marex
Length: 9m +
RIBase
I’m no trailer expert and have just played “spot the difference”. Part 6 looks different.
On the right hand end of part 6 there are 2 horizontal metal plates of different lengths. Alko show the shorter of the 2 in the upper position whereas you have it in the lower position in your photo.
I have no idea if it’s significant but it’s point of difference.
Old 03 June 2018, 07:19   #62

RIBase
Have you referred to The Sbs manual, it’s quite detailed and refers to the auto reverse function a lot
http://www.northernexposurerescue.or...e%20Manual.pdf
Old 03 June 2018, 17:52   #63

Town: north ayrshire
Boat name: charlie girl
Make: S/R5.4/regal3760
Length: 10m +
Engine: Suzukidf70 2x6lp 315
Looking at that picture and all the rust i think id invest in a new set of shoes that right hand side shoe looks like the lining is set to detatch at the top due to rust under the lining.
It also looks like the lining is not true to the shoe at the top
Id say new shoes strip and clean all the slipper assembly, make sure everything that should move does move and plenty of lubrication anywhere the shoes touch anything else
Old 03 June 2018, 21:28   #64

Town: Leicester
Length: 5m +
Engine: 135hp Mercury
Looking at the two pics you've posted & the relationship of the shoes position to the rim of the backplate.

The shoes on the Al-Ko pic. The bottom is near to the rim of the backplate & as you look along the shoe the gap between the backplate & the shoe looks like a nice taper getting further from the rim as it goes towards the top.
Your pic looks as though the top is much closer to the rim than the bottom & instead of a nice smooth taper there's a bigger gap in the middle.
Suggests either the shoes are wrong or the way they're set up is wrong.
It would be easier if you'd posted a pic of the same brake as the Al-Ko viewed square on so the two pics could be directly compared.