Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 September 2011, 10:30   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by jezza2011 View Post
wow the 750s looks ace.but I dont have a engine new enought to use the features.
Spend a few hundred on some NMEA2K sensors?
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2011, 11:42   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northampton
Make: RibTec
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outbaord mariner 75
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 506
Really you can sensor a old mariner 75 1991 up so it sends to the 750s???
__________________

__________________
jezza2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2011, 04:20   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Not easily.

There are companies out there do "bolt on" NMEA2K sensors, and others do adaptors, so you buy the NMEA adaptor & connect in off the shelf analougue sensors so you could, for example fit water pressure, temp etc, and bus them all up down a 2K cable for the trip to the console (can also then add a sounder and not need to run another cable!). The down side is you would need to fit them yourself, although if it's a Merc based Mariner there may be a place to bolt a thermal sensor on the head. Water pressure tapping might be a bit more interesting to fit... From memory there was a pulse - 2K converter for RPM on someone's list.

A few to peruse, just google "NMEA2000 sensors" for more.

http://www.maretron.com/
http://www.seagauge.com/index.htm
http://www.floscan.com/html/blue/NMEA2000.php


I half looked at it, but decided to put on the back burner 'till I build the console instrument pod extension so I have somewhere to put the plotter!
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2011, 06:35   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northampton
Make: RibTec
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outbaord mariner 75
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 506
HMM the kit is not cheap.!!
Ok well I think a nmea2000 set up is far too expensive on the old engine.
Will take a look at the 500 series and smaller units.

But saying that I do like the look of the ribeye on boatsandoutbards listing. 2004 with a yam.. hmmmm new boat with seats.hmmmm

can I convince the other half I need a new one lol
__________________
jezza2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 September 2011, 04:08   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
There was another set of kit out there that didn't need the big data converter. Unfortnately I lost the link, but they were standalone sensors with about a metre ov cable and an NMEA2K plug on the end - dataconversion was performed in a moulded in blob in the cable. They were between 50- 150ish depending what sensor was on the end.

You might need to trawl deeper! (assuming of course the recession hasn't folded them)
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 September 2011, 04:21   #16
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,112
How about this? NoLand Engineering
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 September 2011, 03:37   #17
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
I think it would be a total waste of time and money and be cheaper and much easier to replace the motor! If you want information just add some analogue gauges to the dash! Water pressure is useful but there isn't much else I would bother with to be honest.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 September 2011, 07:19   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Aye, but if you have a console the size of mine ( not even room to put the plotter that started this discussion on in the first place!) then a wee NMEA2K gauge would do the job nicely.....

When I build the instrument pod, water pressure & tacho are the engine gauges I'll be fitting. I might if I can find a suitable switch put an overheat alarm in, but there's an argument that says that would only tell me after my engine has just gubbed itself.
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.