Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 January 2014, 07:15   #11
Member
 
OSPREY RIBS's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Make: OSPREY
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 148
Ive had the same issue with a Garmin. Called them this morning, no questions asked they're sending a new one

Looks like its an issue with a number of manufacturers.
__________________

__________________
OSPREY RIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2014, 07:28   #12
Member
 
Trimix's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Hysucat
Make: Hysucat
Length: 8m +
Engine: Twin Suzuki 175's
MMSI: 235102645
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 861
RIBase
They must all be made the same way to the same standards.

But that means they send us a replacement, but from the same factory. I wonder how long till the replacement fogs up ?
__________________

__________________
Trimix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2014, 07:45   #13
JCW
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Essex
Boat name: Inflatable
Make: Zodiac
Length: under 3m
Engine: Yamaha F6
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to JCW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trimix View Post
They must all be made the same way to the same standards.

But that means they send us a replacement, but from the same factory. I wonder how long till the replacement fogs up ?
You are right, unless the manufacturing process changes or you get one built on a low humidy day then the replacement will probably do the same. It is certainly something that should be designed out. If this happened to my Garmin 750 chartplotter and I got the same response from the manufactuer I would be requesting a refund as it would be unuseable.
__________________
Regards

JCW
JCW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 January 2014, 09:20   #14
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,924
RIBase
I had five LCD displays on the old RIB over her time with me. Only one unit, a Raymarine plotter fogged up. I "cured" it by opening the plotter and inserting a small bag of silica gel beads in the casing. I'm not sure this is a workable solution for a VHF, even if one COULD be @rsed. With the heat being generated within the casing, air MUST move in and out each time you use it, so some system for managing moisture seems like the only solution...
__________________
"Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men?"
.
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 January 2014, 11:17   #15
Member
 
Country: Germany
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 15
You can open ICOM and the HF is shielded against radiation into the front.
There is space to put a small bag of silica gel beads between the front printed circuit and the HF shielding.
I recomend to put the silica bag in a plastic cover to avoid the contamination of the printed circuit withe the humidity when the silicagel is getting saturated.
For that you might want to make some holes in the upper parts of the plastic cover,
but to let the plastic cover intact at the lower part.
Wilhelm
__________________

__________________
Seefunktexte
rib1948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.