Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 28 December 2011, 16:54   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Lowrance LCX-37C or LCX-112C

These units are now discontinued, however if anyone has one or is thinking of upgrading to an HDS unit then please let me know as I would be interested.

Also if anyone know of one for sale, please let me know.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2011, 16:56   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
These units are now discontinued, however if anyone has one or is thinking of upgrading to an HDS unit then please let me know as I would be interested.

Also if anyone know of one for sale, please let me know.

Thanks
Are you thinking the same as I am-that NMEA2000 is just too much of a pain in the arse when all you're doing is hooking a DSC VHF to a plotter?
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2011, 17:00   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Not at all, the LCX is NMEA 2000 ready and I had one on Time Bandit linked up to the display engine data etc. from the E-tec However I do think the newer HDS unit are too expensive and I really don't need all the 3D features.

I am fitting an NMEA network to Pigs Ear with one LMF400 gauge, a fuel flow sender and a fuel level sender, as the Honda is too old to support NMEA 2000 I have to go down the transducer route for fuel flow.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2011, 17:13   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
Not at all, the LCX is NMEA 2000 ready and I had one on Time Bandit linked up to the display engine data etc. from the E-tec However I do think the newer HDS unit are too expensive and I really don't need all the 3D features.

I am fitting an NMEA network to Pigs Ear with one LMF400 gauge, a fuel flow sender and a fuel level sender, as the Honda is too old to support NMEA 2000 I have to go down the transducer route for fuel flow.
Fair.

I'll probably change my mind on NMEA2000, but it appears that the combined AIS/DSC VHF sets available are only NMEA 0183, which gets complicated.


Have a look in the 'bits'n'pieces for sale-there's an HDS7 plotter/sounder for a very good price there. If it wasn't so much of a PITA to hook it up to the AIS VHF I'd have bought it myself.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2011, 18:10   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
I have the LCX and a HDS 7 on the RIB and out of the two the LCX is a better plotter and nicer to use.
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2011, 03:41   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
Fair.

I'll probably change my mind on NMEA2000, but it appears that the combined AIS/DSC VHF sets available are only NMEA 0183, which gets complicated.


Have a look in the 'bits'n'pieces for sale-there's an HDS7 plotter/sounder for a very good price there. If it wasn't so much of a PITA to hook it up to the AIS VHF I'd have bought it myself.
Thanks Nos however I want a bigger screen the HDS7 is only 6.4"

I think you are getting confused on the NMEA thing.

0183 is only really used for connecting the VHF to the plotter to provide DSC position data either for you when sending or others when recieving. This is normally just a couple of wires that connect together. The NMEA 2000 networking is then used for connecting devices such as plotters, guages, senders, engines together on a common network.

You dont have to use NMEA 2000. For example the HDS7 or HDS8 still has a standard direct input for the sounder (or you can plug one in via NMEA2000) It also still has NMEA0183 so you can connect it up to a VHF/DSC

However if you want to plug it into an E-tec for example you can set up a network and then connect it in.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 December 2011, 12:53   #7
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Ahh, I see. The pdf manuals I was reading didn't say that!
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.