Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 11 February 2004, 06:25   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
I do find it a worry.
When most install these themselves!

Maybe I am bias being an engineer at heart.

Regards
__________________

__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 February 2004, 14:12   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
I think most people have seen and could wire up a phono connector, and i think this was a good conection to use for the NMEA in on the VHF - i liked it.

The M601, however uses a bespoke connector which, although a lot more wterproof is very fiddly and hard to wire up. I solder for a living, and although i would have no peoblem wiring this up in my workshop with my home iron (which i would say is better or as good as anyone elses) it's not very easy.

This new connector also has more connections which will confuse people and most anoyingly the pin-out sketch in the manual does not state if the view is pin on or socket on so being a symetrical conector it could be 180degrees wrong.
__________________

__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 February 2004, 17:46   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
hence the reason we now supply it with a made up plug terminated in 2 phono's and a 3.5mm jack socket.

red= NMEA in
White= NMEA out
Jack= Ext speaker

We are trying to make it so easyvto conect, even a WAFI could do it!!

Daniel, have you updated the software in your Garmin and connected it to the NMEA output of the M601?

When you do, if you get a incomming DSC Distress it will plot it on the Garmin.

The will aslo work for position requests.

Just a thought
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 February 2004, 18:06   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
Asked garmin this at the boat show and they said my unit could not do that. I was pissed off. Do you think different? I've got it wired in yes. It's a 168.

RE: the other thread... do you guys have drysuits, Ipswitch is a long way this time of year?
__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 February 2004, 18:10   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Daniel

Empty your PM box!!

I thought all Garmins could be updated for this.
Guess they gave me duff data.
No beer for them on our next night out!!
Who did you ask will check tomorrow for you.

Don't have a dry suit, not keen on them.
Have a breathable two piece, like it as is more flexible if the weather is nice.

Regards
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2004, 14:03   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Brooks
We tried to make it simple for the end user to wire up.
Now we find most boaties have never seen a RCA Phono plug!!!
Yep, but you also ommitted to specify the polarity in the manual for the 503. I guessed and it worked. For future info Ground = outer shell.
__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 April 2004, 05:39   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Oban
Boat name: RIB Tickle
Make: Humber Assault
Length: 5.3m
Engine: Yamaha 60ETO,Tohatsu 3.5
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 371
After updating the software in my 182 I would hazard a guess that I is capable of this function by the menu. it now has a DSC function that is capable of receiving posiion data from a DSC VHF.
__________________
http://www.argylldiving.btinternet.co.uk
Rupert Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 May 2004, 03:47   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupert Bear
After updating the software in my 182 I would hazard a guess that I is capable of this function by the menu. it now has a DSC function that is capable of receiving posiion data from a DSC VHF.
Only if you VHF outputs NMEA
The only one in our line up that doea is the M601

Regards
__________________

__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.