Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 January 2005, 15:57   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: New Forest
Boat name: Charlie Brown
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 275 Verado
MMSI: 235069179
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,072
Send a message via MSN to Zippy
How much for a Re-wire?

Im trying to get some new electrics sorted for Zippy. i did have good intentions of doing it myself as i can see the benefit of knowing what does what if anything were to go wrong.

Problem is, i have just looked under the console for the first time with any serious view to wiring and its a mass bundle of black wires and i dont know where to start.

Theres no positive or negative Bus, wires are not labeled or colour coded and its scared the bejesus out of me.

Anyone out there got an idea what i could expect to pay someone to do this for me?? im wanting to install a 4 way switch panel for nav lights and bilge pump, wire in a fixed radio and gps plotter.

thanks in advance,

Zippy
__________________

__________________
Zippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2005, 06:09   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Southampton
Boat name: DynaMoHumm/ SRV/deja
Make: Avon8.4, 5.4 & 4.777
Length: 8m +
Engine: Cat3126 Yam 90 &70
MMSI: 42
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,556
put a phot up of the console and the internal wiring?
__________________

__________________
Here it comes again, I don't stand a chance
Soul possession, Got me in a trance
Pullin' me back to you - Deja Voodoo
Rogue Wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2005, 07:41   #3
GED
Member
 
GED's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: CONWY/CORFU
Boat name: The Full Morty II
Make: Air Craft/Shakespere
Length: 8m +
Engine: Etec 300hp/Etec150hp
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 603
wiring

its simple ....red to red.....black to black.....blue to bits!
__________________
GED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2005, 13:15   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: New Forest
Boat name: Charlie Brown
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 275 Verado
MMSI: 235069179
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,072
Send a message via MSN to Zippy
Im going to have a real good look this weekend. if i can figure out whats happening under the console in my head i hope things will be clearer.

Look at it logically and all that. will get some pics tomorrow too
__________________
Zippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2005, 15:07   #5
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Thats the problem with boat wiring it all seems very haphazard.

I would be tempted to rip the whole lot out and rewire it. At least then you will know where everything goes and what it does.

I too wanted to rewire my RIB over the winter. I did the engine and all the way from the engine to the console. When I seriously looked under the console it was such a mess, that I decided to tidy it up as best as possible and leave it for next year.

Their are so many different colours and bit of wire underneath that I decided what it really needs is ripping out and replacing.

It took six hours to do the engine etc, So I guess a full day doing under the console. As it all works I have left it for now. Also because of the tight confines of my console I am tempted to lift the console out to do the re wiring.

My Dad once said to me if it works don't touch it. In this case I decided to go along with that.

I would imagine the hardest bit to do if you had to do it would be the loom from the throttle control to the engine. But this is a loom and as such doesn't require any rewiring. Its all the bits of wire to the VHF/Depthgauge/Nav Lights/ GPS that are the problem.

Best of luck.

Nick R.
__________________
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2005, 17:28   #6
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
If I were you Howard I'd sit down in front of your console with a cupper and a mulimeter, have a good rumage around and seperate the outboard loom from everything else. You can't do anything with the outboard wires exept to check the bullitt connections for corrosian one at a time and note any fuses you come across.

All the other wires are "none crittical" meaning strip them out and start again! Obviously don't chop instument wires, but my guessing is that there's a load of leftovers that you don't need.

I ended up with a bin full of wire after I finished.

Any probs PM, Mail or phone me.

Andy
__________________
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2005, 17:33   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: New Forest
Boat name: Charlie Brown
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 275 Verado
MMSI: 235069179
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,072
Send a message via MSN to Zippy
i was planning to sit down and have a look tomorrow but looks like in off to port solent in the morning to get some bits and bobs and maybe a sneeky kite fly too.

Maybe tomorrow afternoon if the rain holds off. i will be taking pics so i might have some chance of putting it back togeather again.
__________________
Zippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2005, 17:49   #8
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
Zippy

Have to agree with most here, builders do just throw the wiring in the boat now.

As Hightower says identify the engine loom and then rip the rest out and start again, its very satisfying to get right and you'll understand it a lot more.

Most of what you will be doing is supplying 12V power to various items via switches and of course fuses. Approach it methodically and it will fall into place. Keep it tidy as well, it will look good and be easier to fault find should it not work, or should it go wrong in a force 6, 2 miles off shore.

I did mine last year but now I'm building a complete new dash and making some other changes so am going to do it again.

Nasher.
__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2005, 17:57   #9
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
I can get you some short lenghts on electrical trunking that you can glass to the inside of your console either side. Engine loom one side and everything else the other. Worked for me and I can even use the console for storing things in.

You'll need to rewire everything exept the engine so that if you have electrical gremins at Sea you know where everything is.

Oh yes.....Move that Isolator switch
__________________
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2005, 18:00   #10
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
As I said outside of the Engine Wiring loom its all simple logical wiring stuff for lights etc. You can do it yourself quite easily.

I have no Engineering or Mechanical or Technical background and actually enjoy wiring up accesories.

Wiring Engines though are an unknown area for me and would be done with some trepidation. Thats not as tho' I wouldn't do them tho'

Regards Nick r.
__________________

__________________
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.