Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 September 2012, 09:40   #1
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Battery specs

What specs would you consider appropriate for a single 3.4L engine outputting 140amps on charge, a large plotter and a few other misc instruments?
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2012, 12:41   #2
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
I'd go to Specs savers and see what they say?
__________________

__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2012, 12:58   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
If you are going for a single battery then I woudl be looking at something along the 110AH size with at least 800 CCA (Cold Cranking Amps) Like the NUMAX here Batteries 4 Leisure. Caravan Batteries, Marine Batteries.

If you want to spend some serious money then an AGM battery woud be good but you would be spending about 350 the 110ah. They do last very well however and wont discharge over longer periods.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2012, 12:58   #4
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Seattle
Boat name: Water Dog
Make: Polaris
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 60hp
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,152
petrol or diesel?
its not the running loads which count so much as a good minimum cranking amps for starting.
__________________
captnjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2012, 15:10   #5
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
I would have a look at your engine handbook. That'll state the required cranking amps and will in part dictate what size battery you should be fitting. Always go for as bigger ah as you can. Better to go to overcapacity and ha e a bit in hand.

I have twins in mine. One 85ah and a 110ah. Both with cca of 850 or there abouts.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2012, 15:26   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Hmmm...well we have just taken out a badly sulphated 100AH 700CCA trucking battery and were somewhat surprised at its lack of size.

The decision is whether to go for two 100ah batteries (to negate the need for a complex charge distributor) or one perhaps 130ah. Think we're leaning towards two for redundancy's sake because we are fitting a bilge pump too now
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2012, 16:05   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotchiguy View Post
Hmmm...well we have just taken out a badly sulphated 100AH 700CCA trucking battery and were somewhat surprised at its lack of size.

The decision is whether to go for two 100ah batteries (to negate the need for a complex charge distributor) or one perhaps 130ah. Think we're leaning towards two for redundancy's sake because we are fitting a bilge pump too now
Why not go for two 130s and an ACR+1 -2 or both isolater then you have a house and starter option
Get a set of leads made up so you can connect either one as a starter if your in trouble.

Sent from my phone in the bar
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2012, 11:22   #8
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by bedajim View Post
Why not go for two 130s and an ACR+1 -2 or both isolater then you have a house and starter option
Get a set of leads made up so you can connect either one as a starter if your in trouble.

Sent from my phone in the bar
+1 or get a smart switch that charges the house battery and will link it all together with a switch in case of an emergency.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2012, 13:41   #9
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
You really don't need high Ah batteries unless you are going to be running your electronics for extended periods of time without running your engine. By extended I mean 6 hours or more. What you need to aim for is a battery with a high cca which quite often results in a comparatively low Ah. Optima AGM are good something like 1000 cca but only 50 or so Ah. If you had a liveaboard with a fridge and cabin lights and the like then deep cycle batts are good, but just for engine starting and light loads then don't waste your (dad's) money on high Ah. IMHO twin batt setups on single engine boats with cruising trips like ours are overkill. If you're worried about unexpected batt failure then replace your single batt every 3 years as a precaution.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 September 2012, 07:25   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
So two 975cca/75ah Optimas would be good then? Only thing is that it suggests an alternator voltage of 13.8-15V, but ours outputs 55V..
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.