Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 12 April 2016, 18:02   #21
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerbelly View Post
with autolube jet sizes adding oil to the fuel tank will reduce the amount of petrol in the mix the air volume is fixed with the throttle opening the jets can only flow so much fluid so by adding oil you will lubricate more but be running a weaker air fuel mixture which we all know isn't good burns pistons ect, surely a better idea would be to increase the amount of oil the oil pump sends into the inlet . or am I overthinking this I grew up on 2 stroke mopeds and kh 250,s and had a few seizures in my kack handed tuning attempts
Beerbelly - you are beyond my area of expertise, but I do know that the break in procedure is to run the first tank on premix. I'm not sure if the dosing rate is variable on the engine? Or perhaps premix is just more reliable at getting everywhere it needs to quickly?
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 2016, 18:02   #22
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bournemouth
Boat name: Lucky Heather
Make: Whaly
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30hp Mariner
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 93
RIBase
As far as I'm aware you can't change the pump dose. I have a feeling that the original issue with the block needing reboring was a blocked check valve from the oil pump to the fuel filter. Another thing replaced. I can't see how an increase in oil (to a certain amount) will effect the electrics to the plug.
__________________

__________________
papajoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 2016, 18:29   #23
Member
 
A1an's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Fort William
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F80
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,239
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by papajoe View Post
As far as I'm aware you can't change the pump dose. I have a feeling that the original issue with the block needing reboring was a blocked check valve from the oil pump to the fuel filter. Another thing replaced. I can't see how an increase in oil (to a certain amount) will effect the electrics to the plug.
It won't.
__________________
There is a place on this planet for all of Gods creatures.........right next to my tatties and gravy.
A1an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 2016, 19:12   #24
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by beerbelly View Post
and run it on just petrol cos your weakening the afr putting oil in
Aye, it'll smoke like a Marlboro' red addict & not pull the skin off the proverbial rice pud, but I also ran in a premix 2- stroke on 25:1 for 60 odd litres after a total rebore rebuild and apart from cleaning the plugs (which kind of happened on it's own when I swapped to a 50:1 tank) it worked fine on the same plugs etc for the rest of the season.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poly View Post
He's just rebuilt it. Normal run in procedure is 50:1 plus the autolube for the first tank.
Yep. Seagull mix is what you need for the first few hours! (along with a gas mask!)



No spark is likely going to be one of three things:
- dead coil
- dead trigger
- Short somewhere.

Now, I assume both plugs don't spark? I don't know your engine but I would be initially looking at anything wired in the stop circuit - could be overheat switch, stop button (some Yams had one on the side of the case) or possibly a low oil switch In the oil reservoir.

Remember the key switch also shorts the deadman circuit when in the "off" position.

I'm assuming you have separate HT coils on this engine? - If one of them (or the trigger circuits under the flywheel) had failed I would have thought only 1 plug would be "spark free". On a 2 cyl engine one down is usually enough to stop it. A 3 cyl it will run like a dog - just - if one cyl goes down. (don't ask me how I know! )

Check all your kill circuit switches - plenty of Yam wiring diagrams out there...
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2016, 05:32   #25
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Liverpool
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 106
I did a total rebuild of my force 120 10 yrs ago from re pistons up. As part of the diagnosis and testing I needed a digital voltmeter that measured ,from memory, not the peak voltage but the root mean square voltage and that gave a true reading of the coil or stator output. I have one of those meters and happy to lend it to you for diagnosis. I'f your electricity knowledge is not great you may need someone to hold your hand while you work things out. Give me a shout if I can help. Nik
__________________
matata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2016, 07:02   #26
Member
 
thestig1973's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: warrington
Make: Honwave T32
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 15 2 stroke
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by matata View Post
I did a total rebuild of my force 120 10 yrs ago from re pistons up. As part of the diagnosis and testing I needed a digital voltmeter that measured ,from memory, not the peak voltage but the root mean square voltage and that gave a true reading of the coil or stator output. I have one of those meters and happy to lend it to you for diagnosis. I'f your electricity knowledge is not great you may need someone to hold your hand while you work things out. Give me a shout if I can help. Nik

Nik

That is a very kind offer and any assistance you could offer would be very much appreciated, and obviously I would make sure your efforts are rewarded via pound notes/beer tokens
__________________
thestig1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2016, 07:20   #27
Member
 
thestig1973's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: warrington
Make: Honwave T32
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 15 2 stroke
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by matata View Post
I did a total rebuild of my force 120 10 yrs ago from re pistons up. As part of the diagnosis and testing I needed a digital voltmeter that measured ,from memory, not the peak voltage but the root mean square voltage and that gave a true reading of the coil or stator output. I have one of those meters and happy to lend it to you for diagnosis. I'f your electricity knowledge is not great you may need someone to hold your hand while you work things out. Give me a shout if I can help. Nik

Nik

That is a very kind offer and any assistance you could offer would be very much appreciated, and obviously I would make sure your efforts are rewarded via pound notes/beer tokens

I have good mechanical knowledge and very basic electrical from many years ago when I was an apprentice car mechanic...... However the only knowledge I have of 2 strokes is rebuilding motorbike engines, but never had major electrical issues
__________________
thestig1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 2016, 06:57   #28
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bournemouth
Boat name: Lucky Heather
Make: Whaly
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30hp Mariner
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 93
RIBase
Well, the search goes on, I managed to get another coil and still no spark, whats next down the line! starting to drive me crazy!!!!
__________________
papajoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 2016, 13:17   #29
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Liverpool
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 106
Go to a site called marine doctor. He's a guy in canada and from there he helped me diagnose and rebuild the engine. Trawl his site, watch his videos, be methodical and understand what your doing. You may need to download a manual. Keep me posted Nik
__________________
matata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 April 2016, 15:55   #30
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bournemouth
Boat name: Lucky Heather
Make: Whaly
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30hp Mariner
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 93
RIBase
No luck on the marine doc site so I've got hold of a new cdi pack, with new stator exciter coming. I've got hold of some used coil but I'm confused. Reading the manual about testing ignition coils, the primary coil is giving a continuity reading in specification but when I check the secondary coil (ht lead to black wire) I don't get any reading. Either my existing and replacements are dud or am I doing something wrong?
__________________

__________________
papajoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.