Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 10 March 2004, 18:51   #1
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Newfoundland
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,097
Computer help needed!

Sorry, absolutely bugger all to do with RIBS but...

Bought new PC base unit which I use with old Medion Monitor. All is well until I try to run some graphic intensive programmes. (well OK Sim City 4 and X2 if you must know!). Run the game and monitor seems to lose signal and turn itself off!
Hit Ctrl alt del and it sparks back into life. If I then terminate the game it goes back to Win Xp no bother. Even dafter thing is that when I first ran a game (X2) on it it worked OK. Subsequently no joy. Computer is AMD2.2ghz with FX5200 graphics card.

Any thoughts from the the techno heads out there?

Cheers,
Alan
__________________

__________________
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 March 2004, 20:07   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West London
Boat name: Asp
Make: A BLACK Stealthly Metzeler
Length: 4m + really stealthy
Engine: Johnson 70hp VRO - not steathly at all!
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 231
Alan,
Sounds to me that you may want to drop (either or both) the refresh rate & the colour quality on the monitor to see if this makes a difference!

You don't say how much video & PC memory you have Plus what monitor / size it is!

IE.. If you are running a twin set of 21 inch monitors @100htz & 32bit colour with 128mb of PC memory & a 64mb video card - you would give it a heart attack!

Send me a pm

Pete
__________________

__________________
Suzuki416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 March 2004, 07:30   #3
Member
 
Country: Greece
Town: Gloucetsreshire
Boat name: GATO DI MARE
Make: MAR.CO
Length: 9m +
Engine: Yamaha 200Vmax
MMSI: 235027678
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,339
Send a message via MSN to Manos Send a message via Yahoo to Manos Send a message via Skype™ to Manos
Alan I have heard that SIMCITY has conflicts with XP. Now I'm not an expert but this was written in one of the PC mags. It was also an article on how to fix the prob.
Bugger though I do not have the mag but I think it was PC GAMES or something.
Manos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.