Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 13 August 2021, 15:46   #1

Town: Gloucestershire
Length: 7m +
Towing sizes and practicality

This thread is a gold mine for the legislation around towing: https://www.rib.net/forum/f49/towing...ons-79040.html

But what do you guys actually tow? How far? How much is too much?

I'm in a position where I am looking at buying a decent size RIB (7m+) and want to keep it on a trailer so I'm not confined to a particular area as I don't live by the sea.

I probably won't buy this year, hoping the prices settle a little for next season, but what are the practicalities of towing a larger boat?

I'm keen to hear from people with more experience than me. I have plenty of experience boating, but not towing, so getting in and out of marinas and slipways, driving down narrow cornish roads etc are all things I want to think about before pushing the button.

My dream RIB is Brig Eagle 8, which I understand is technically towable and maybe within the realms of possibility in the next year, but I am not sure how practical it would be under real-life circumstances to actually get on the water without massive effort
Old 13 August 2021, 17:23   #2

Town: Waterlooville
Boat name: Tickler
Make: Halmatic P22
Length: 6m +
Engine: Inboard Diesel 240HP
MMSI: 235115642
RIBase
I've towed my Pac 22 with a Merc Sprinter motorhome and a Toyota Land Cruiser - 16.3m and 14.3m long respectively up to and around the Outer Hebrides from Hampshire and then launched at a number of slipways. With a bit of forward planning, it's fine. Practice your manoeuvring before you go and if you have a non-panicking banksman or woman, it's very helpful. There aren't that many roads you can't take quite a sizeable trailer although single track with passing places in holiday season mixed with hired motorhomes who don't understand the concept of passing places (or reversing) does increase your blood pressure somewhat.