Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 14 August 2023, 19:04   #1

Is it worthy to buy a 1990 Zodiac Hurricane 640?

Hi,

I am new to RIBs and RIBnet. I came to the site because it offers much knowledge and experience from members for me to learn quickly. Long story short I am looking for a RIB to accompany my son's practice in dingy race sailing. Local coaching is under desired now and the best ROI for him is to spend more time on the water (can be heavy sometimes) by himself.

Lately I found a 1990 Hurricane 640. It has new WIND tubes installed professionally in 2021. A recent video from the seller shows that the boat rides smoothly and stably. The boat has an Evinrude 135 HO outboard, 440 hours, but no trailer. Asking USD $15K in the west coast. My major concern is whether the boat is structurally sound after 30+ years. My understanding is that an old RIB is about the hull and tubes and I saw many refurbishing projects on old Zodiac RIBs. Since I am new (to almost everything RIB), I would like to ask whether it is worthy to go on to test and negotiate?

Thanks!
Old 14 August 2023, 19:26   #2

Town: kansas city
Length: 4m +
The zodiac hurricane's were top of the line by zodiac, especially at that time. Most likely it's ex government agency of some sort as the average joe wasn't buying zodiac hurricane's new.

i have a 540 hurricane that i put new tubes on a few years back and it's a very solid boat.

Looking specifically at the ad, boat looks solid. I'd want that him to throw in that kicker as well. Price seems fair. Go take it for a cruise!
Old 14 August 2023, 21:03   #3

Town: San Diego
Make: Zodiac
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard, Diesel
It looks like a steal… but make sure you get the hull checked out. No reason to be selling a boat like this for $15k so make sure it passes the “smell test”. Those sponsons cost $15k new, the engine is worth at least $5-6k today, the kicker is another $1k. See where I’m going here?