Old 08 October 2008, 14:43   #1

Length: no boat
Big Trip- Info Needed

Hello,

Im trying to put together a damn big trip around Australia by sea and was hoping to tax your collective knowledge base as i have a ton of questions at the moment.

Basic idea is to cirumnavigate Australia (or at least take in half of it) in a few RIB's documenting inshore coastal waters, estuaries etc. At the moment im just trying to put together all the pieces, and it seems boats are the best place to start. The sort of info i am after;

1. Best craft size for the trip
2. Typical range/fuel consumption
3. Typical carrying capacity by weight
4. Landing- can RIB's be run up on to a surf beach in emergency?

I am sure there are many more questions that I havent thought of yet so if you have any other pearls of wisdom please post them up.

I am a relative novice in this sort of stuff but dont worry, if the trip does come about then I will be taking along some people with extensive offshore boating experience.

Thanks,

Shorty
Old 08 October 2008, 21:06   #2

Town: Crawley
Boat name: BerryBuoys
Make: BananaShark
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 EFi
MMSI: 235068187
Quote:
Originally Posted by shorty View Post
Hello,

Im trying to put together a damn big trip around Australia by sea and was hoping to tax your collective knowledge base as i have a ton of questions at the moment...

Shorty
Hi there

I can't offer any advice I'm afraid as I'm a relative rib novice too, but what a fantastic adventure that would be! I say go for it. I followed my dream of skiing to the North Pole earlier this year and the feeling I had of fulfilling that ambition was incredible; standing at the Pole was a moment that will be etched in my memory forever.

Good luck with your plans, be sure to let us know how it all goes.

Yours
Ian
Old 08 October 2008, 22:24   #3

Town: Melbourne
Make: Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Hi sounds interesting!