Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Inflatable boats - SIBs and folding RIBs
Click Here to Login

Old 09 June 2024, 15:00   #1

Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: OB
Unglued Starboard Aft Seam on Avon SeaSport 400DL

Good morning!

I am new to RIBnet, having read many threads over the past few months.

I purchased a 2002 Avon SeaSport 400DL a few months ago. I love the boat, and the Yamaha F50 is so fuel efficient that I love it too.

I have had issues with leaks, even having the RIB partially sink at my dock (solved by reseating the drain plug housings which were leaking).

A couple of evenings ago, the starboard tube began taking on water, and I discovered that the starboard aft seam had become unglued from the water pressure underway. Its mostly unglued after barely making it home. The water has drained out, and it is in the sun on the trailer at home now.

I have the attached photos and would appreciate advice on how to repair it.

Thank you in advance,
Ross in South Carolina
Old 09 June 2024, 17:54   #2

Town: NorCal
Boat name: SHARKY
Make: AB
Engine: Honda BF75 & BF5
Welcome to the board

Regarding the boat...Oh my!

First I would like some questions answered to determine what the next step should be:

Was the tube deflated and filled with water? That strip is just added protection on top of a lap joint, and shouldn't have anything to do with the tubes attachment to the boat.

How is the top of the tube material? Pictures? Looking for any missing material, fading, paint, patches etc.

Can you retake the bottom photo now that the water is drained? Including from the stern. It's hard to tell what that grey thing hanging down is.

Rip that patch off and take a photo to show what is under it. Weird place for a patch, and they used what looks like 3M 5200 which has no place on the tubes.

That is a Hypalon aka Orca material boat, but those scratches on the port side stern are somewhat deep. Is there more similar damage on the tubes, or worse?