Old 25 February 2020, 18:09   #1

Town: Kaneohe
Length: 4m +
Hull to tube water leak

I am very new to ribs & even boating in general. I recently purchased a Bombard 420 Aerotec as a first boat. When I hit waves, I'm noticing a small spray of water from between the top deck of the hull & the tube on the starboard side. It's as if there is a missing portion (4-6", maybe?) of connection between the tube and the hull. Is this possible? What would the fix be? Remove the tubes?

Appreciate any help you might have.
Old 27 February 2020, 02:39   #2

Town: Connecticut
Make: Zodiac
Length: 6m +
Engine: Undecided
Sounds like the bolt rope which attaches the tube to the hull is probably separating. Deflate the tubes and check between the tube and hull which will confirm.

QUOTE=mblacklin;808829]I am very new to ribs & even boating in general. I recently purchased a Bombard 420 Aerotec as a first boat. When I hit waves, I'm noticing a small spray of water from between the top deck of the hull & the tube on the starboard side. It's as if there is a missing portion (4-6", maybe?) of connection between the tube and the hull. Is this possible? What would the fix be? Remove the tubes?

Appreciate any help you might have.[/QUOTE]
www.DinghyPro.net
cgoing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 February 2020, 20:54   #3

Town: Ennis
Boat name: pac 22
Make: Halmatic
Engine: inboard
I tend to agree with CGOING. On these ribs the glue on the bolt rope can break down even though tubes are 100 percent. Its an easy enough fix for someone in the business. Tubes off for a start ,its the only way to really see whats going on.
Old 27 February 2020, 23:11   #4

Town: Kaneohe
Length: 4m +
Dang - not what I wanted to hear. Now to find 'someone in the business'.

Pretty mechanically inclined/handy, but not sure I'm up for pulling tubes off just yet.
Old 28 February 2020, 07:06   #5

I think you will manage the removal Bit .get a third opinion just to be sure to be sure to be sure to be sure