Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 04 October 2020, 14:38   #1
Member
 
Town: Basingstoke
Make: Coastline
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 175
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 120
Garmin 750s forgets Engine derived Fuel level on shutdown

My Garmin 750s get lots of useful data from the Suzuki DF60A.

As long as I do my bit and put in the correct initial fuel, it will display fuel burn, litres per mile, and most importantly fuel remaining and range.

The problem is that this data it reset every time the unit is powered down when going ashore, fishing etc.

Is there some way to configure the unit to 'remember' the last known fuel level?

Thanks in advance.

Nick
__________________

__________________
bestman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 October 2020, 14:43   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Excel Vanguard 395
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki 20
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 79
My boy had a 750 and 551 with his suzuki df200 and it definitely remembered fuel level on both his plotters. Even turning the battery off for months didn't reset it. He isn't on here anymore but I'll ask him if anything special needed done for you.
__________________

__________________
nocando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 October 2020, 14:54   #3
Member
 
Town: Basingstoke
Make: Coastline
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 175
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 120
Thanks nocando
__________________
bestman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 October 2020, 15:16   #4
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11,543
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by bestman View Post
Thanks nocando


Have you got the proper Suzuki engine interface cable?
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04 October 2020, 15:33   #5
Member
 
Town: Basingstoke
Make: Coastline
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 175
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 120
Not Sure Dave,

Setting it up was a bit of trial and error as well.

I just tried various options until the data was displayed.



It seems to work but forgets on shut down, which is irritating, if I forget to note down fuel and then re-enter correct amount....

Maybe the internal battery isn't doing it's stuff - but it locks on to satellites quick enough.
__________________
bestman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 October 2020, 16:03   #6
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11,543
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by bestman View Post
Not Sure Dave,



Setting it up was a bit of trial and error as well.



I just tried various options until the data was displayed.







It seems to work but forgets on shut down, which is irritating, if I forget to note down fuel and then re-enter correct amount....



Maybe the internal battery isn't doing it's stuff - but it locks on to satellites quick enough.


The fuel remaining is saved in the engine interface cable, not the unit. Go into setup/network/devices & see if a Suzuki interface is listed. If it is, select it & then see what data itís providing. If thereís an option to select it as ďfuel rem sourceĒ do so.
Youíll need the ignition switched on on the engine to power up the interface.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04 October 2020, 16:08   #7
Member
 
Town: Basingstoke
Make: Coastline
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 175
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 120
I'm heading out to the garage now!
__________________
bestman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 October 2020, 16:47   #8
Member
 
Town: Basingstoke
Make: Coastline
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 175
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 120
I've podged a few buttons, changed the fuel, and it now seems to remember...

It definitely wasn't remembering, as it topped the tanks to 25, when the last known figure was less than that.

I'll leave its overnight and check again - but fingers crossed - and many thanks.
__________________
bestman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2020, 20:15   #9
Member
 
Town: Basingstoke
Make: Coastline
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 175
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 120
Cheers Gents - just retested and think I'm sorted
__________________
bestman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2020, 22:01   #10
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11,543
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by bestman View Post
Cheers Gents - just retested and think I'm sorted


__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08 October 2020, 12:37   #11
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11,543
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by bestman View Post
Cheers Gents - just retested and think I'm sorted


You will probably have to calibrate the system. Donít rely on it for the first few fill ups. See what the system thinks itís used & compare it to how much itís really used. You should be within a litre of each other. If not, when you fill up, there should be an option to calibrate when you tell the unit youíve filled the tank. Basically you tell the tank itís now full AND how much youíve added to fill it. The unit will compare its calculation to reality & add a fiddle factor to compensate.
You may have to repeat the process for 2 or 3 fills before itís accurate. Mine is to the litre.
__________________

__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 20:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.