Click Here to Login

Old 02 August 2016, 13:43   #1

Town: Bristol
Boat name: N/A
Make: HONWAVE
Length: under 3m
Engine: Mariner 10hp
Recommendations for New and Used Mariner Parts

I was hoping that you might be able to enlighten me on where's best to order new and used parts.

I have a 10 hp mariner that had been used on remotes and I'm converting it back to the tiller. I need simple things like bushes and spacers. I've just spoke to one parts distributer and he wanted almost £50 for two very small bushes part No. 23-823939 (about 2mm thick!) a little pricey I thought...but is this the way it's going to be; I'm new to outboard tinkering and parts seem scarce?

Looking online, it seems way cheaper to buy from the states, I'm also happy with used parts where possible.

Thanks
Old 02 August 2016, 14:01   #2

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
Well in my experience yes indeed buying stupid small parts (if still available) for older outboards is out of all proportion to their value and can make something like BMW car parts look cheap! I've not found any massive price difference between differing UK sources for new OE parts... but I have found a big difference between the helpfulness of dealers to looking up obscure small parts. For example my local very small & quite tatty Mercury/Mariner dealer will look parts up on his PC and let you look at the details over his shoulder so you can see what's what re availability and pricing. Charges retail or therabouts though.

Folks on here have received good service from Black Dog Marine so you could try them... Black Dog Marine. Outboard, Inboard Parts And Accessories

Used it's down to Ebay really or the rare chance someone on here is breaking the same model. Just be wary on Ebay there's a guy breaking OBs in Cambrishire who has been a heap of trouble in the past... but his recent record looks better so if he's the only guy with what you want...