Old 16 November 2011, 13:43   #1

Town: Oxford
Length: no boat
Preparing for Advanced C of C

Hi all, newbie here.

I am a Dinghy and Powerboat Instructor (both coastal) but based near Oxford at the moment.

I am preparing to take my Commercial Advanced exam at the end of the month.

I am a Day Skipper Sail, and I have taken the RYA Advanced Powerboat Course.

I am looking for a little guidance as to what I need to be swatting up on.

I have been going over day shapes, night lights, buoyage etc, as well as plotting a few course to steers and some pilotage plans.

So am I going over the right things? Is there anything else I should be working on? Last but not least any advice?

Thanks very much
Old 16 November 2011, 17:06   #2
RIBnet supporter

Town: Hants
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp plus
Is this the advance powerboat commercial exam?
Old 16 November 2011, 17:19   #3

Town: Llanfair pg
Boat name: just about to change
Make: Aircraft
Engine: Outboard
MMSI: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiffysam View Post
Hi all, newbie here.

I am a Dinghy and Powerboat Instructor (both coastal) but based near Oxford at the moment.

I am preparing to take my Commercial Advanced exam at the end of the month.

I am a Day Skipper Sail, and I have taken the RYA Advanced Powerboat Course.

I am looking for a little guidance as to what I need to be swatting up on.

I have been going over day shapes, night lights, buoyage etc, as well as plotting a few course to steers and some pilotage plans.

So am I going over the right things? Is there anything else I should be working on? Last but not least any advice?

Thanks very much
Hi newbie!
Although it doesn't seem you are too new ref your Qualls
As a Powerboat Instructor your day shapes and bouyage shoud be well sorted
You should be able to plot an EP and DR should be no prob.
Don't forget 'variation' some peeps do in the 'heat of the moment'!
Some of the theory is 'tick box' multi question stuff, so that should be no prob ref your experience