Old 08 April 2019, 22:43   #1

Town: Mystic
Make: Saturn
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard
Upgrading to a RIB

Hi everyone,
I have been boating for a few years now, US east coast, CT and RI. I have a Saturn 14' X Long inflatable (https://www.saturnboats.com/inflatab...ghytender.html), with high pressure air floor. I use it almost exclusively in the ocean so waves have always been an issue. I don't take it out in rough conditions but even on calm days there is always some chop. I have been considering upgrading to a small RIB, specifically one of these: F-RIB | Revolutionary new Foldable RIBs (F-RIBs). I have never been in a RIB so I am trying to find out there will be much of a difference between the two. My boat has an inflatable V keel and the folding RIB has a similar size V keel but it is solid. What do you think?
Old 08 April 2019, 23:56   #2

Town: Nottinghamshire
Make: Ranieri 15
Engine: Suzuki DF50
Welcome to the forum!
The Gurnard on here has one and rates it highly although reporting under certain conditions can be less comfortable than an inflatable floor. I guess this would be because they are fairly flat bottomed. However they plane very easily and will go faster than a similar sized SIB so you can often take advantage of having a smaller sized engine. If you do a rib.net search you will find lots of info.
Old 09 April 2019, 07:35   #3
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
The Gurnard has a YouTube channel where you can while away the time seeing his adventures on the small Frib and his bigger Sib. https://youtu.be/syIoS-qvq7I

Do you need the folding capability?
Old 09 April 2019, 08:29   #4

Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Excel 435
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
RIBase