Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 28 May 2012, 12:42   #1
Member
 
Maximus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wild West
Boat name: No Boat
Make: No Boat
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,272
Send a message via AIM to Maximus
Touch Screen Plotters on a RIB?

Many memebers had experiance of 'Touch Screen' plotters on thier RIB's?... I'm inclined to think them better suited to 'Enclosed Craft'..am I right?
__________________

__________________
A clever Man learns by his mistakes..
A Wise Man learns by other people's!

The Road to HELL ..is Paved with "Good inventions!"
Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2012, 13:04   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
It took me a while to convert, but I wouldn't go back now. Sometimes tricky to touch the screen where you want when bouncing around, but so much more versatile and easier to use than buttons and menus. Garmin 5008.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2012, 13:13   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
Chris Caton's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wirral & Caernarfon
Boat name: That's Enuff
Make: Revenger & Avon SR4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Honda 150HP & 50HP
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,199
i went for the garmin 4008 because was warned off touch screen on a rib, due to the screens not being that hard waring there are some good hybrid ones out there now worth looking at it's a lot of money to be dissapointed
__________________
Chris Caton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2012, 14:22   #4
Trade member
 
Andre's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Sussex
Boat name: Grey Mist
Make: Parker 800 Baltic
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2xMercury Diesel 170
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,457
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to Andre
My current demo rib the Parker 750 Baltic is fitted out with the very latest navigation equipment from the Simrad range. ie Simrad NSS12 touch screen GPS Chartplotter, 4 G Broadband radar , StructureScan etc. The rib will also be used as a demo rib for Navico UK for the promotion of the Simrad range.

I have not used the touch screen before so too early for me to comment as i have only had the rib for a short time and only just getting used to it. it is very simple to operate and for sure can be used on an open rib.

if you are very interested in the touch screen then i can only suggest you contact Simon Claxton at Navico UK and find out when the next demo is planned for.
Andre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2012, 15:46   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Boat name: Viper
Make: XS
Length: 7m +
Engine: Outboard 2x 90
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 177
Garmin 720s, brilliant, really easy to use except when bouncing aorund but then its not that easy to hit buttons then either
__________________
oracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2012, 16:19   #6
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Garmin 5012 for the last 4 years, never going back. Moving cursors around with buttons drives me up the wall now.

Plus the big advantage on a rib with little room for gadgets is the size of the screen for the size of the unit
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2012, 17:02   #7
Member
 
gohelm's Avatar
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: Goudswaard
Boat name: mr D
Make: Deltapower
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha f300 BETU
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 233
RIBase
Using a Garmin 620 - works super in general but not as easy to get your finger where you want it when the boat is moving....
__________________
gohelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2012, 03:44   #8
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
The Raymarine "Hybrid Touch" has buttons and you can turn the touch screen off for when it's very wet or things get too bouncy!
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2012, 04:11   #9
Member
 
boristhebold's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,293
Im about to buy a Raymarine E7 hybrid unit, as I use my rib all year round touch screens dont work with gloves on hence the hybrid approach best of both worlds.
__________________
boristhebold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2012, 04:34   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by oracle View Post
Garmin 720s, brilliant, really easy to use except when bouncing aorund but then its not that easy to hit buttons then either
Part of the reason I put mine right at the edge of the console - I can rest my hand against it (comfortably) and work the buttons (down the RHS of the screen) with my thumb!
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.