Old 21 December 2012, 10:15   #1

Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
PB instructor prep ?

I've been mulling over becoming an instructor for a while - not really as a money making career move, but more because it may come in handy and its just something to be able to prove to myself I can do it. ( much like my comm APB that I did a couple of years ago). I've been a paid trainer (financial 'stuff' ) in the past and an unpaid gliding instructor .....so how hard can it be ?

Has anyone done this recently and any views on whats the best sort of prep for it ?

I'm working on the assumption of doing with a well known powerboat training school in Poole - who does from time to time read and post on here.

I'm hoping to sit on on a course or two in the spring, get my hand back in ( things always get rusty over the winter) , read some book in Jan and make sure I know whats on the course...but anything else I should do ?

There are lots of instructors on here so thought it may be a good place to ask.
Old 21 December 2012, 10:21   #2

Town: Côte d'Azur
Boat name: Beaver Patrol
Make: Avon Searider SR4
If you've got advanced powerboat and you're able to communicate with people then its a breeze I didn't do any prep when I did mine and got through it easily.

Interestingly when I did my pre assessment, there was a very young chap who was clueless - couldn't park the boat to save his life and didn't know how to read a chart, yet he still passed! I'm sure you'll be fine.
Old 21 December 2012, 11:04   #3

Town: Rostrevor
Boat name: Ricochet
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin F115 Yams
MMSI: 235083269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim M View Post
Interestingly when I did my pre assessment, there was a very young chap who was clueless - couldn't park the boat to save his life and didn't know how to read a chart, yet he still passed! I'm sure you'll be fine.
Not with me he wouldn't
Old 21 December 2012, 11:08   #4