Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 12 May 2013, 07:27   #1
Member
 
maxg's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: london
Boat name: Yo-Yo
Make: Ribeye
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 300
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 49
New Rib Yamaha throttle

Went down to Dartmouth to test out my new Ribeye 785. Got to say fantastic service from them. I have one question.
The throttle control (very cool) is fly by wire. I am used to throttles that are wired up and have a safety button to move it out of neutral. This does not?
The guys at ribeye say all the manufactures are doing this, so you can knock the throttle into gear by accident. Has anyone come up with a solution to getting some form of lock to stop this?
__________________

__________________
maxg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 08:08   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Chris Caton's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wirral & Caernarfon
Boat name: That's Enuff
Make: Revenger & Avon SR4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Honda 150HP & 50HP
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,199
nice rib, good choice

don't know about the new controls, but doesn't sound to good to me
__________________
Chris Caton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 08:32   #3
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,924
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Caton View Post
don't know about the new controls, but doesn't sound to good to me
This has been normal for yonks on binnacle throttles. Be cautious when leaving the helm with the motors running. We had a few kids hop onto the 1050 (twin 300s) in Crinan for a looksee. They made straight for the nice console with the bouncy seats. As they moved, both myself and donegaldan had the same thought and lunged to kill those deadly quiet engines. We both had visions of 600hp loosed among a huge raft of RIBs and PAX.
__________________
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 09:04   #4
Member
 
maxg's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: london
Boat name: Yo-Yo
Make: Ribeye
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 300
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 49
[QUOTE=willk;536665]This has been normal for yonks on binnacle throttles. Be cautious when leaving the helm with the motors running.

For yonks???? I can't believe that someone has not had a major accident with this system, their must be a better way.
__________________
maxg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 09:08   #5
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,924
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxg View Post
For yonks???? I can't believe that someone has not had a major accident with this system, their must be a better way.
For yonks

What could be better than no-one having had a major accident with this system for yonks?
__________________
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 09:13   #6
Member
 
maxg's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: london
Boat name: Yo-Yo
Make: Ribeye
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 300
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by willk View Post
For yonks

What could be better than no-one having had a major accident with this system for yonks?

Good point....

Just worried as there will be children on the boat most times, and just wanted an easy life. Ho hum engine off at all times unless it manned by a resposable person.
__________________
maxg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 09:17   #7
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,924
RIBase
Yup! A combination of good boat management and good child management should cover it. Tell them how keelhauling works....
__________________
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 09:58   #8
RIBnet supporter
 
C2 RIBS's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hants
Boat name: Gemineye
Make: Ribeye S850 charter
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp
MMSI: 235097445
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxg View Post
Went down to Dartmouth to test out my new Ribeye 785. Got to say fantastic service from them. I have one question.
The throttle control (very cool) is fly by wire. I am used to throttles that are wired up and have a safety button to move it out of neutral. This does not?
The guys at ribeye say all the manufactures are doing this, so you can knock the throttle into gear by accident. Has anyone come up with a solution to getting some form of lock to stop this?
Hi, I am sure yours should have the safety button. look on the left hand side of the base of thr throttle, There should be a small black button whic is flush with the unit. Push this in and the blue light on the throttle case should start to flash. This thien enables you to push the throttle forward to gain revs without being in gear. We have the same kit and all models have the fit, will be very surprised if this ione of yours does not. If you struggle send me an image of both sides of the throttle base or ring Tim at Ribeye. All the
best
__________________
Ian
Rib charter and Rib hire with www.c2ribs.co.uk
C2 RIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 10:02   #9
RIBnet supporter
 
C2 RIBS's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hants
Boat name: Gemineye
Make: Ribeye S850 charter
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp
MMSI: 235097445
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,029
See image of the set up you will probably have with the throttle box. The switch is not very clear but can be seen left hand side and is flush with box.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0062.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	134.1 KB
ID:	79877  
__________________
Ian
Rib charter and Rib hire with www.c2ribs.co.uk
C2 RIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2013, 10:13   #10
Member
 
maxg's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: london
Boat name: Yo-Yo
Make: Ribeye
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 300
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by C2 RIBS View Post
See image of the set up you will probably have with the throttle box. The switch is not very clear but can be seen left hand side and is flush with box.

Thanks for your help. I know the button you mention but I thought you had to keep it pressed to activate the system. If you don't that would be ideal.
__________________

__________________
maxg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rib

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.