Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 05 December 2015, 21:10   #1
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Melbourne
Boat name: itsjustgoodbusiness
Make: Zodiac Hurricane 733
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard Volvo Penta
MMSI: RO666
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 32
In-hull transducer

On my boat there's a box for an in-hill transducer. The boat was bought with no transducer in the box, so the navy must have removed it when the boat was decommissioned.
I now want to install a fishfinder GPS unit and consider the Garmin echoMAP 75dv.
The transducer it comes with is suppose to go on the transom. The dealer said it might work if I place the transducer in the box and fill it with glycol.
The objective it to have a CHIRP sounder and I.m not sure if this will work as an in-hill transducer.
Comments please. Is there a better sounder for this application.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5745.JPG
Views:	153
Size:	94.7 KB
ID:	109959   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5748.JPG
Views:	153
Size:	95.6 KB
ID:	109960  
__________________

__________________
Heino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2015, 01:24   #2
Member
 
gtflash's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: TOP CAT 2
Make: Scorpion 8.1
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250hp HO
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,318
I used a north star sounder for depth only by silkaflex ing it to inside of hull. Worked perfectly for years but it was just depth reading
__________________

__________________
gtflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2015, 03:41   #3
Member
 
M.Thornton's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: blackpool
Boat name: Fast Forward
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 315 Yanmar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 319
We used marine sealant to bond a standard Raymarine chirp transducer to shoot through the hull last year.It worked perfectly
__________________
It looks massive on the trailer,but tiny in a big sea!
M.Thornton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2015, 05:05   #4
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
Mine originally had a proper fitting and all the messing around filling with glycol etc but the fitting was stuck on wrong when the boat was built and the sounder didn't give a reading half the time as it was pointing out to the side.

I got another fitting, but there wasn't space to stick it onto the hull as I couldn't get the old one off. Somebody on here suggested I just put it on with silicone sealant, which I did, and that was about four years ago now. It worked better than the original ever did, and I haven't had to touch it again.

I don't know if a CHIRP sounder is the same technology, but if you just use ordinary silicone rather than sikaflex, you should be able to get it off again fairly easily if it doesn't work.
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2015, 05:15   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,588
RIBase
I have a Lowrance HDS 9 gen 3 with an M260 in hull transducer. Chirp works perfectly.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2015, 05:55   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Denny
Boat name: Hebridean Storm
Make: Coastline
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 130hp
MMSI: 235107505
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 838
Old Lowrance lcx16 with transom skimmer transducer bonded inside the hull.
Clear bottom trace to about 30 meters at 25kn+. (Much, much deeper at slow speed.)
The only aspect of the performance likely to be effected is absolute range and if it's that deep it probably doesn't matter anyway
__________________
Last Tango is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2015, 14:26   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Waterlooville
Boat name: Tickler
Make: Halmatic P22
Length: 6m +
Engine: Inboard Diesel 140HP
MMSI: 235115642
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 266
RIBase
Garmin have a section on transducers including through hull ones. They are quite expensive compared with the transom mounted ones. I think it also depends on how you use the boat. The transom mounted ones can be a bit vulnerable if you do lots of launching.

http://www8.garmin.com/transducers/d...guide-2015.pdf
__________________
GuyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 December 2015, 15:09   #8
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,588
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuyC View Post
Garmin have a section on transducers including through hull ones. They are quite expensive compared with the transom mounted ones. I think it also depends on how you use the boat. The transom mounted ones can be a bit vulnerable if you do lots of launching.

http://www8.garmin.com/transducers/d...guide-2015.pdf
Most, if not all transducers are made by Airmar & rebadged by the different manufacturers who have their bespoke plugs fitted to the cables. That's why all the different manufacturers offer more or less the same transducers.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07 December 2015, 10:57   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
If its just for depth reading then shoot through hull works ok, but you will get more detail when its transom mounted. The ultimate solution to this is a proper through hull transducer mounted externally.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 December 2015, 16:31   #10
Member
 
Country: Denmark
Town: Kerteminde
Boat name: Genesis 340FTD
Make: Walker Bay
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 15 hp 4sroke
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 24
I've been using a Garmin plotter with a transom mount transducer fixed with silicon internally on the big boat for the last two years, works fine.
__________________

__________________
DavidMarten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.