Old 23 November 2010, 13:24   #1

Town: Southend on Sea
Boat name: Ego
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mariner 50hp
Going down the tubes

Hi guys, I am new to Ribs, so apologies in advance if I ask any stupid questions.

I have recently brought a 4m Narwhal NK 400 Rib off ebay, it came complete with trailer, 40 horse electric start mercury, centre console and everything is pretty straight with the exception of the tubes.

Having read some of the threads understand that the tubes are Hypertex (PVC) and the process/materials I need to follow for glueing them but I can blow the whole boat up from one valve, so clearly all the seperate chamber valves are shot so was considering going down the inner tube route.

Have found a guy in Lincolnshire who will do me a good deal on a full set of inner tubes, (guaranteed for 5 years) but before I part with the hard earned cash wondered what the general feeling was on the inner tube solution.

Look forwards to your word of wisdom

PS any opinions on the NK 400 also received with interest
Old 23 November 2010, 14:24   #2
RIBnet supporter

Town: Rutland
Length: no boat
Quote:
Originally Posted by scratch-boy View Post
Hi guys, I am new to Ribs, so apologies in advance if I ask any stupid questions.

I have recently brought a 4m Narwhal NK 400 Rib off ebay, it came complete with trailer, 40 horse electric start mercury, centre console and everything is pretty straight with the exception of the tubes.

Having read some of the threads understand that the tubes are Hypertex (PVC) and the process/materials I need to follow for glueing them but I can blow the whole boat up from one valve, so clearly all the seperate chamber valves are shot so was considering going down the inner tube route.

Have found a guy in Lincolnshire who will do me a good deal on a full set of inner tubes, (guaranteed for 5 years) but before I part with the hard earned cash wondered what the general feeling was on the inner tube solution.