Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 March 2010, 08:32   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: rochester
Make: nautica 16 wb
Length: 5m +
Engine: yamaha 50
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 33
garmin 90

hi all
can anyone tell me if you can mount the transducer of a garmin 90 in the hull or dose it have to be fitted to the transom
thanks
__________________

__________________
keith m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 March 2010, 14:22   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
As with most transom-mount transducers, you can bond it in the hull as well. Plenty of tips on here how to do that but use silicone or preferably epoxy, making sure there's no air bubbles at all.
__________________

__________________
www.allgadgets.co.uk
Tel 01395 227727
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 March 2010, 15:06   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: rochester
Make: nautica 16 wb
Length: 5m +
Engine: yamaha 50
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 33
any tips on how 2 get rid of the air bubbles
__________________
keith m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 March 2010, 15:16   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: no name yet
Make: Still building it..
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115 hp
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by keith m View Post
any tips on how 2 get rid of the air bubbles
mix the epoxy resin very slowly.

spread a thin layer on the hull first than apply a sticky lump to the bottom of the transducer.
place the transducer to a level position if you follow any other lines like the curve of the vessel the transducer will send a signal at an angle .

strait down is the way it needs to face.

pack around the transducer and epoxy resin with plaster scene this will keep the unit level and stop the resin from running away from the unit being fitted.

The reference to bubbles may also mean any small bubble like defects in the grp itself.
__________________
Sonar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 March 2010, 15:39   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
My advice would be to use a fairly thin epoxy as you will find it impossible to get the bubbles out of thick stuff and dont try to do this when its is cold as the eopxy goes stiff in the cold.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 March 2010, 15:55   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: rochester
Make: nautica 16 wb
Length: 5m +
Engine: yamaha 50
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 33
would silicone be ok to use atleast if i mess it up i can get the thing out and clean again
__________________
keith m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 March 2010, 16:02   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: no name yet
Make: Still building it..
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115 hp
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by keith m View Post
would silicone be ok to use atleast if i mess it up i can get the thing out and clean again
may well move about a bit
.
But maybe sikaflex would be ok
or something called sticks like s*it from a builders merchants better than silicone and it forms a hard rubber. also it will stick to a damp surface.
__________________

__________________
Sonar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.